We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonecroft Country Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stonecroft Country Inn to your Saves list
Stonecroft Country Inn
515 Pumpkin Hill Rd, Ledyard, CT 06339   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mystic Seaport Getaway!
Ranked #2 of 3 Ledyard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My girlfriend and found this place a convenient and great place to stay in lieu of the typical Foxwood Casino big hotel experience..yet its centrally located to both the casino resorts and the mystic seaport area...We stayed in the Buttery room off the main floor, the room was very cozy and we had a delicious breakfast the next morning....I wish all the good fortune to the new owners Jim and Marcie from making this inn a truly special place...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Powerhugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear New York City, NY,
Thank you for your encouraging review of our inn and for mentioning our strategic location, midway between the casinos and Mystic. We are glad that you found the "Buttery" room to be so cozy. We plan to update that room in the near future. Look for new pics on our Facebook page. Thanks for the well wishes!
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    30
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
176
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We loved the location of the inn since it is out in the country and only a short drive to Mystic. We stayed in the Sarah Suite and found it to be quite comfortable. It was quite spacious and had a great bathroom. The new owners, Jim and Marcie, are very friendly and welcoming. There was a nice deck outside our room that we enjoyed while having a cup of coffee. It is always nice to have refreshments or a small snack available when you arrive and we did miss that here. Our neighbors have a B&B and always keep a small refrigerator filled with juices, sodas, and water along with a cookie jar filled with homemade cookies for newly-arriving guests. Perhaps that will be added in the future because eveyone seems to enjoy that aspect of a B&B. We did find the outside door downstairs to be quite noisy because it slams shut on its own. Some folks don't seem to care that other guests are staying in the rooms and aren't very considerate late at night. It was nice to have fresh fruit and hot homemade muffins before breakfast. The eggs benedict was delicious, too. Jim does a good job of trying to stay on top of things during the busy breakfast time. We had a pleasant stay and really enjoyed the town of Mystic.

Room Tip: It was pretty quiet in the Sarah Suite except for the downstairs door slamming late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank walkaday65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear PA,
Thank you for your very thorough and encouraging review of our inn. As new innkeepers, we always appreciate it when guests make suggestions on how we can improve our inn. As you kindly suggested, we will be adding more in-room amenities in the near future. You will also be glad to know that the downstairs slamming door situation has been resolved. All it took was a slight adjustment to the closure mechanism. Now it closes without sound! Thanks for bringing that to our attention.
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My wife and I visited for our anniversary last weekend and fell in love with this place all over again. The new owners are wonderful and accommodating and the Shubel room is the most relaxing bed on the planet....Stay there, enjoy the amazing blueberry muffins and whatever else is on the menu the next morning and you will love every second of it! Can't miss this place if you are anywhere near Ledyard, Ct.

Room Tip: Shubel is the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlackner23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Westbury, NY,
Thank you for your terrific review of our inn and for mentioning one of our premier suites; the "Shubel." We are glad that you found the king-size bed in that room to be "The most relaxing bed on the planet." Thanks too for mentioning our fresh-baked blueberry muffins. It won't be long before we can pick our own blueberries right here on the property to add to the morning muffins. We're sure that our gusts will be picking them as well just to eat. Yum!
Your Innkeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My son took my husband and I for my husband's birthday. It was a lovely inn with beautiful rooms and fabulous bathrooms. The gardens are quite lovely. The breakfast was wonderful. The Inn is under new ownership and the couple who are the owners were so friendly. I would highly recommend this Inn for a get away. Nice location, close to Mystic CT. I'd go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: Beds were very comfortable. We stayed in the Orlando room and my son, his wife and their 4 yr. old s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Fountain Valley, CA,
Thank you for your encouraging review of our inn. As new owners we are always glad to hear from guests who have had such a wonderful experience here as you did. We were honored to have a part in celebrating your husband's birthday! Your Innkeepers, Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our second visit to this Inn in 6 months. We love the location of this inn, as well as all of its comforts. The Inn is well appointed, but maintains the feel of the original 1800;s building and property. The Yellow Barn accommodations are modern and luxurious, while coupled with restored, wide planked wood flooring. The new innkeepers are very nice people, who make you feel welcomed and comfortable without invading your privacy. The breakfasts remain absolutely scrumptious, with signature blueberry muffins each day, and a special dish. The area is quant and quiet but close to Mystic, Mohegan Sun, Stonington, etc. The inn does not offer dinner at this time, but there isn't any problem finding great restaurants only a few minutes from the parking lot.

Room Tip: We have enjoyed our stays in Orlando and in the Lily, both in the back of the Yellow Barn, overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suecast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Smithtown, NY,
Thank you for your terrific review and for mentioning all the wonderful aspects of your visit. Thank you also for pointing out that we are one inn with two distinct styles of accommodation. We have the traditional B&B accommodations in the 1807 House as well as the 6 luxury suites in the Yellow Barn. We are glad to be your "new favorite place." Your Innkeepers, Jim and Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, CT
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The bed and breakfast was just the lovely escape we were looking for. The inn setting was very lovely, the inn owner's were so nice and pleasant to be around and to do business with. The room was luxurious and comfortable with a nice patio for us to enjoy our morning coffee and enjoy the vista. The breakfast was very good and the seating area over looking the outdoor patio and garden area just made the breakfast that much more pleasure. A definite on the list of places to revisit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Cheshire, CT,
Thank you for your positive review and for "highly recommending" our inn to others. Thank you as well for mentioning our breakfasts overlooking the gardens. We are glad you had such a pleasant stay at our inn and look forward to seeing you again when you revisit us. Your Innkeepers, Jim and Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Like Heather, my partner and I stayed in the Sarah Suite, and it was a perfect, romantic weekend getaway. The room was a perfect size, and the fireplace a must-have. Bed was extremely comfortable. There was a balcony on which we could sit, although because it was overcast and chilly when we were there, we couldn't take advantage of it. The bathroom was a religious experience, with a whirlpool tub from which we could look at the fireplace and a huge, shareable shower. Loved that there were two sinks as well.

The Inn is a B and B, and breakfast was outstanding both mornings. Do be sure to let them know in advance if you're a vegetarian, because both meals had meat in them and were brought to us; there's no menu from which to choose. (As a baconatarian, this was a huge plus for me -- just thinking of my vegetarian brothers and sisters out there!).

The inn is a quick drive to Mystic and Stonington, both lovely towns where you can spend your day just strolling around. Or, if you're a gambler, you can hit the casino, which is maybe 20 minutes' drive from the inn. We also enjoyed just being cozy and reading in the room. Lots of options!

The Innkeepers, Jim and Marcie, were absolutely delightful and beyond accommodating. Of great important to us was the fact that, as a female couple, we were treated exactly the same as all of the other different-sex couples who were there. That's not always the case when traveling, and we were particularly grateful for the equally warm treatment.

I highly recommend the inn and hope to return again in the not-too-distant future!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Montclair, NJ
Thank you for this superlative review and especially for mentioning our suites and all their wonderful amenities. We are also grateful when guests mention the warm welcome they receive at our inn. We look forward to greeting you warmly again in the not-too-distant future. Your Innkeepers, Jim and Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledyard
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
4.9 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#3 of 14 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 5 in Uncasville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,736 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
5.2 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 14 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecroft Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecroft Country Inn

Property: Stonecroft Country Inn
Address: 515 Pumpkin Hill Rd, Ledyard, CT 06339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Ledyard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ledyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet country elegance for the discriminating traveler. Located less than 5 miles from Mystic and the Casinos, Stonecroft Country Inn, an 1807 sea captain's country estate, consists of a sunny Georgian colonial and more recently renovated Yellow Barn. The 1807 House has four common rooms, six fireplaces, and four historic guest rooms with private baths, three with fireplaces. The Yellow Barn offers six luxury guest suites with gas fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Voted Best of New England 2012 by the Editors of Yankee Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stonecroft Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecroft Country Hotel Ledyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing