We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Romantic Country Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonecroft Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stonecroft Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Ledyard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Romantic Country Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We decided to return to the Stonecroft for a week of rest and relaxation after our first stay there 6 years ago. We had planned to go to Puerto Rico, but decided we needed something more quiet instead. We couldn't be happier with our choice. It was the perfect romantic getaway.

The week was an experience of pure abundance. First came our large room (almost a suite) with a canopy bed, cozy little sofa, fireplace, whirlpool tub in the huge bathroom, and deck leading to the garden. Everything perfectly appointed. Then, because we chose the Hide N Sleep package, we were provided with a daily bottle of wine with a cheese and fruit plate. The housekeeping staff even gave us a plate of fresh made cookies after they met us - just for fun. Next came the daily generous country breakfasts - fresh muffins, fruit salads and delicious made-to-order dishes of your choice served by the fireside in the beautiful stone dining room looking out at the garden. The topper was dinner - we simply could not believe our good fortune that our package price included a 3-course gourmet dinner for two every night. This is no ordinary country inn dinner. This is true gourmet dining, lovingly created by chef Shaheed Toppin and enthusiastically served by the attentive and knowledgeable wait staff Steve and Steve (yes, they have the same name). Over the week, we happily ate our way through the menu and each dish was amazing - Filet Mignon, Lobster/Crab Cakes, Stonington Scallops, Lobster Ravioli, Prime Rib, the list goes on and on with fantastic wines to match.

From our morning greeting by cheerful Maria at breakfast, to the accommodating housekeeping services of Ava and the others -- everyone at Stonecroft made us feel enveloped in a family-like atmosphere where our every need was tended to and we were free to relax and rejuvenate. It is clear that owner Jason Crandall and his family has infused the Stonecroft with a true pride and enthusiasm in making guests happy.

One or two days are not enough to absorb the true feel of country relaxation here - by day three, we were slowing our city selves to match the quiet hush of the beautiful Stonecroft garden pond. With so much to do near by, there is no fear of boredom. We spent time hibernating by the fireplace in our room with some of the Stonecroft's fine DVD collection, we explored nearby Mystic, visited Mohegan Sun casino only 15 minutes away -- we never ran out of things to do. And yet, somehow by the end of our five days, we felt perfectly rejuvenated and recharged. We can't wait to return to Stonecroft soon -- to bring our family members to enjoy the beauty and the incredible food, and then to return alone for another romantic escape. We can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Every room in the Grange is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tessa_derfner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    33
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
196
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

We cherish our trips away to B&Bs and were very excited when we found this place through Trip Advisor. We selected it based upon the ranking...and felt compelled to share our experience when we returned. We wouldn't recommend it to a friend without a few qualifiers...

The Pros: We stayed in a room in the Grange. It was a good value for a nicely decorated, clean B&B. Very comfortable beds with luxury grade bedding. Good location to visit Mystic. Staff was very friendly, attentive and responsive. The restaurant had a great menu and the food was well prepared. We were able to eat at our leisure and really enjoyed our meal. Our waitress was simply wonderful. Great martinis and great coffee! Really nice outdoor seating area off of the restaurant with fireplaces (but was not in use during our stay)

Cons: Very, very noisy. When we checked in they asked us to agree to not run the Jacuzzi after 11PM and to keep noises down. I couldn't understand why until we settled in. The walls are very thin and we heard everything - from toilets being flushed, floors creaking, etc. My husband joked that he heard the guy thinking the bathroom next door. : ) Our room was right by the front door and the entrance to the dining room. It was so loud.....we didn't rest well at all and were exhausted the next day. The fireplace is gas and overheats the room very quickly. it only stays on 1 hour at a time and we had to keep the windows opened while we slept even though the tstat was set at 65. The restaurant is in the basement but above grade. It had a drop ceiling which was odd given the rest of the decor was very nice (and it made you feel like you were in a basement). Our reservation was for 730 and they had already run out of the specials and some other menu items. By the time we reached dessert at 915ish, the kitchen was basically closed. We asked for a glass of milk and were told they didn't have any. The brunch that came with our room reservation was only offered between 9-10AM and the choice was limited between pancakes or a frittata. That worked fine for us but another couple came after 10A and were told they needed to spend 9.99/pp to have breakfast.

Overall ....the staff, location, value and food quality were all great....but the noise levels were awful. We would only recommend a room on the 2nd floor and only with some assurances that it would be quieter.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mymircalesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

There is a reason the Stonecroft is our absolute top pick for a getaway. We live less than an hour away, and when we want to step out of our lives for awhile and completely relax in an environment of peace, pampering, and absolutely the best food you can imagine, there is no place better than the Stonecroft. Every single detail is anticipated, from the lovely Ava (who met us at our car the first time in the pouring rain with an umbrella), to the wine glasses and full ice bucket already in the room, to the heavenly chocolate chip cookies in the room in the afternoon, to the heated towels next to the jacuzzi. The owner is the perfect balance between pleasant and engaging, and unobtrusively in the background observing even the slightest nuances - he knows who is having an anniversary, who is about to propose, who is simply escaping life's stress and needs some privacy, and who needs a call (after the restaurant is supposed to be closed) to say, "If you're interested in breakfast this morning, the chef will stay a little longer." Even if you don't stay the night, the restaurant is first rate in every category - fresh ingredients perfectly prepared and impeccably served. The rooms are quiet and beautifully furnished, and the bed supremely comfortable. Everything is scrupulously clean and in perfect working order. The moment I leave, I'm planning the next getaway.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilariejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

A clasic bed and breakfast. The rooms were very quaint, spacious, individual gas fireplaces. Only negative was the room was too hot. January- had to sleep with the windows open. Breakfast was amazing- dinner fabulous- staff accomodating. Owner was a very pleasant guy. Surrounding property beautiful to walk around. I would love to come back in the fall for follage season. You need to drive to get to town (Mystic Seaport) just a few miles down the road. Pleanty of shoping sightseeing and New England atmosphere. Two casinos with 10 miles. Got it all!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virgoix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

We had a party of six for New Years Eve Weekend and we could not have asked for a better time. The rooms and the service were great. As for the food, this restaurant is TOP NOTCH! We had great weather too, so we were able to enjoy the garden around the fire pit. This was our second visit to Stonecroft and I can hardly wait for my third. We will be back very soon!
Nancy & Nick
Croton On Hudson,NY

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nidonato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2010

First of all, the first-floor rooms in the Grange are a 1 1/2 story walk- up from the parking lot, then the dining room is 1 1/2 story staircase down from the rooms. This is a huge accessibility problem for anyone with any difficulty walking.
We booked a really beautiful room in the new Grange building, which included a romantic gas fireplace and wireless Internet. Right after checking in, we tried to log on Internet and check email (I know it was for honeymoon but as an independent consultant, I have to keep an eye on the email for work): no good because both laptops could connect to their router but the internet connection was out. Since the French door to deck would not lock (ah, safety issue? Does anyone remember what happened to Connie Francis?), I called the innkeeper to the room. The French door had to be really slammed hard to lock. He told me he'd have to ask his brother to fix the internet the following morning and showed me a cord to plug in. That didn't work either but it was late and I didn't bother him again because, after all, he said his brother was going to fix the internet in the morning... When it was not fixed and I met the brother/co-owner mid-morning, I asked him to fix it. Still it was not fixed later: he said he was busy and it would take a couple of hours to fix. Later, I was told they'd "called the guy" to fix it. After a couple of days, I complained again and was finally offered access to the owners' computer to check email, Internet access in Grange was never fixed during our 4-night stay. PS: there are free hotspots at DunkinDonuts in Groton and Starbucks in Mystic and I missed out on a great job because Mr. "I'll Get Around To It" never got around to getting the Internet access fixed.
Gas fireplace for honeymoon, nice and romantic, right? Sure, when it works. Told the innkeeper the switch was not working. He was neither surprised nor particularly concerned when he said "oh, there was a loose wire". Again, he promised to get it fixed but never did.
This is a really lovely facility but it is clear that the innkeepers are not focused on maintenance or service. No lid for the icebucket meant the ice was melted every day, and there is no icemaker accessible to guests. No coffeecups on arrival rendered the nice coffeemaker useless. No Internet, non-working switch on gas fireplace, promises, promises... Very frustrating and very expensive.
On a positive note: we can't say enough good things about the chef. If in the area, make reservations for dinner one night (but not for Weds. night special - quality of entrees was not so good).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FarmFriendNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonecroftcountryinn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Although we offer free internet as a complimentary add on to a stay at Stonecroft, due to the limitations of technology, we cannot guarantee that it will always be available. We do maintain two different networks, so if one is down, there is usually access in the other building - which was the case during the reviewer's stay. We regret slips like missing coffee cups and a faulty fireplace switch, but we always appreciate the feedback as an opportunity for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

Was sent here by another B & B,who had made a mistake,was the best thing that could have happened. The owners were very accomodating and the staff was also. Will go bck again when the dining room is open from Wednesday to Saturday.
Breakfast was soooo good. More than enough.
I highly recommend. Next Time will stay in the other part that has been modernized.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kids7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledyard
3.8 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
5.2 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecroft Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecroft Country Inn

Property: Stonecroft Country Inn
Address: 515 Pumpkin Hill Rd, Ledyard, CT 06339-1637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Ledyard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ledyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet country elegance for the discriminating traveler. Located less than 5 miles from Mystic and the Casinos, Stonecroft Country Inn, an 1807 sea captain's country estate, consists of a sunny Georgian colonial and more recently renovated Yellow Barn. The 1807 House has four common rooms, six fireplaces, and four historic guest rooms with private baths, three with fireplaces. The Yellow Barn offers six luxury guest suites with gas fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Voted Best of New England 2012 by the Editors of Yankee Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stonecroft Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecroft Country Hotel Ledyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing