We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Ledyard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just stayed in the Southwest room, loved it. The decor of the room is great and I love the whirlpool tub and fireplace. Soft comforter, nice towels. Erika is very nice and helpful. It is nice to see an owner show such an interest in their business and really wanting everyone to be happy there. I love the eco friendly vibe here with the food and even the shampoo. The location is good, just out of the way to be quiet but very close to Mystic and the casinos. This would be a nice place to be in the summer with the seating area outside and the deck. I've stayed at many B&B's and this is one of the better ones. I look forward to coming back sometime.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessi9260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 353 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I spent much of the Thanksgiving weekend in the Mystic area and luckily we chose to stay at Abbey's. Erika is a great inn-keeper. Not only did she ensured we felt comfortable, she also gave us great recommendations on what to do and where to eat on the holiday weekend - when many things were closed. The room (Southwest) was amazing - fireplace + Jacuzzi. We loved lazying on the deck on Friday morning and then venturing out to eat at the recommended small restaurants. Overall, a very good experience and worth doing all over again in a couple of years from now.

Room Tip: Call the Inn Keeper...she knows the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MustangCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

First of all, if you are coming from New York, try to leave earlier to skip the rush hour in Stamford on a weekeday, the experience was horrible! Our supposed two-hour travel became 4 1/2 hours. I called Erika at Abbey's and she was so nice enough to come back to work so she could just check us in. She was very hospitable throughout our stay and her smile never fades :) We stayed in the Lucy room. The place was very clean, the common room smells so good, really country though on a morning, it will make your tummy craving for breakfast since the room can be easily filled with the smell of hot meal. You can hear the laughs and chat in the morning, good people, good food makes you feel safe and at home. However, if you are a quiet couple, Erika can still prepare your breakfast and you can bring it inside your room. The Lucy Room by our standards is not too big nor too small. There is another room across from us and the bathroom is located in-between though we never had conflict of using it. The place is strategically located and minutes from Foxwoods, Mohegan Sun, Mystic Seaport and Pequot museum.

This is the first time my husband and i went for a bed and breakfast place. He's very meticulous but did mention that he wants to come back there in the Summer which means he approves of this place. The bar was set really high and i hope our future b&b accommodation will be able to surpass our pleasant experience with Abbey's Hill Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liz j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Love this place...My husband and I spent our 7th Wedding Anniversary in the Mystic Room. So lovely, clean, eclectic...love the feel of the room. Erika the Inn Keeper checked to see if we needed anything and when we came back from dinner we had lovely wine glasses and a wine opener. We had a beautful jacuzzi tub with candles...it was beautiful. Also love the location, we wanted to go over to Foxwoods but didn't want to stay there...this was perfect. Will definately go back. In the morning she offered us breakfeast which we didn't eat because we were holding out for Clyde's Cider Mill donuts! Glad we did, but the breakfeast sounded wonderful and we did have a wonderful cup of coffee. Will definately look for a reason to go back to Abbey's soon...thank you Erika!

Room Tip: Loved the Mystic Room...would like to try the room with the fireplace next time but I think they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisas61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Abbey's is a very special place. If you are looking for an intimate, charming, and homey getaway- Abbey's is the place to go. The rooms are spacious and well-kept. My boyfriend and I stayed in the Southwest room and loved the wood-burning fireplace, the outdoor patio, and the overall feel of the inn. The room was extremely clean and decorated beautifully. After we checked out the room, we decided to explore the property, which features a remote and peaceful garden and lounge area. The keeper, Erika, was lovely. She made sure we were situated and offered very helpful suggestions about where to go in Mystic. We stopped by Clyde's Cider Mill, where we had apple-cider donuts and hot apple cider and cruised around Mystic to experience the many restaurant's happy hours. On our way home, we stopped at Foxwoods, which is literally a two minute drive from the inn. Our stay was short but we were able to enjoy every second by staying at Abbey's!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ericarose5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Abby's Lantern Hill Inn is beautiful treasure of southwestern CT. My wife and I booked a room for a last minute, spur of the moment get away, and boy were we pleasantly surprised. Upon arrival, the grounds and general atmosphere transported us from our hectic world to a time and place that we both related to Hyannis Port or Newport during the 1940s. The charm is in the details.

Our room was very clean, in great condition, and very well decorated. Breakfast in the morning was delicious. Erika, the Innkeeper, is well traveled, well versed, and a delight to talk with. She is quite a cook too.

Our stay was short, so we were unable to fully enjoy the hammocks, fire pit, grill, gardens, and covered pavilion that the exquisite grounds provided. We are sure to return to give them a go.

Whether looking for a place to escape and relax or just to spend a night or two while enjoying the attractions of the area, Abbey's is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Our room was listed as pet friendly on the site, and being that we were not traveling with pets we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmatheson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My boyfriend surprised me with a birthday weekend getaway. This was truly a weekend I will never forget. Abbey's is so conveniently located for us Long Islanders, it is only 20 minutes or so off the Orient Point Ferry. I had no idea where our destination would be, but I was overwhelmed with excitement as we had a truck racked with kayacks and road bikes. It was about 8:30pm on Friday when we arrived. The two of us were COMPLETELY in awe as we slowly drove down Lantern Hill Road and approached the Inn. We were struck by the beautiful outdoor lighting and extremely welcoming entrance to the property. Erika greeted us with a friendly smile and showed us to the Downeast Room. This room had such a cozy feel from the moment we entered. Eye catching decor, a wood burning fireplace, outdoor patio and a private bathroom. My boyfriend enthusiastically described this room as "eclectic old soul stitched with present day unique findings" :-) After we got settled we brought a bottle of wine out back and enjoyed a beautiful night under the stars laying on the hammock! No better birthday morning then to wake up to freshly brewed coffee, delicious pastries and fruit on the table and indulge in some of Erika's "made to perfection" pancakes! (we couldn't resist and ordered pancakes two mornings in a row!) Later that Saturday Erika was kind enough to come out with us for a bike ride. She showed us some great local spots, Clyde's Cider Mill (which we stocked up on donuts and hard cider Yummm!), Mystic Seaport and more. The roads were perfect for cycling!! That evening we had the perfect dinner in downtown Mystic at Azu. Margarita's Mexican Restaurant ROCKS and Captain Daniels for late night drinks and music! It was so nice to come back to Abbey's to top our night relaxing on our private outdoor patio.

No question, we will most certainly be back to stay at Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn. Connecticut's best kept secret!! We look forward to bringing friends and family there as soon as possible. Thank you Erika for making this such a special weekend! Your kindness and sincerity really made us feel right at home. We are already planning our next visit! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShelbyaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledyard
1.1 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,460 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
0.8 mi away
Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
#3 of 4 in Mashantucket
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilltop Inn & Suites
Hilltop Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in North Stonington
215 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
499 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn

Address: 780 Lantern Hill Rd, Ledyard, CT 06339-1459
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Ledyard
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ledyard
Price Range: $150 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adventure, romance, and relaxation await at this top-rated Inn. The location is the perfect jumping off point to explore Mystic Seaport, Stonington Borough, the Rhode Island beaches, and world-class evening entertainment and shopping at Foxwoods and Mohegan Sun Casino. Standard room amenities include: free WiFi/parking, AC, large flatscreens TV with HD cable (some also with streaming Netflix), plush bath robes, hairdryer, iron, and private patio. Some rooms also include wood-burning fireplace and/or jetted soaking tub. Your stay comes with a daily made-to-order cooked breakfast (buffet options as well). We use mostly organic ingredients including some sourced from our local farmers. We can easily accommodate special diets like vegan, gluten-free, etc. with a bit of advance notice. Also enjoy complimentary snacks & beverages, bonfire pits, hammocks, and miles of onsite hiking trails to scenic Lantern Hill. We have a pet-friendly cottage & are Connecticut Green Lodging Certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey`s Lantern Hill Hotel Ledyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing