We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Interlaken Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Interlaken Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeville
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The room was incredibly dated. While they clearly tried to improve things with new furnishings, you can't get around the physical structure - old and worn out. I ordered room service and my meal was over $70. For one. Good location to the boarding schools.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieQAttorney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
I am so sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with your stay at Interlaken. "Average" is certainly not what we are striving for. I believe that the Townhouse room accommodations are wonderful when combined with the adjoining Townhouse Suite, but agree that they do not stand out when they are purchased individually. We do plan to have these accommodations linked to a Suite only so that the Guest experience will once again be enhanced.
The prices we charge for room service are the exact prices that we charge on the menu in our dining room. That is not the case for most hotels, and most hotels do not have to get in their car and drive over to an outside room. We do add a 25% gratuity onto all room service checks and we feel this is justified for the extra long trip the server must undertake.
Given all of the other varieties of accommodations that we offer here at Interlaken, I'd like to get you into one of those areas the next time without any upgrade charges. Please let me know when you plan to visit the Lakeville area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    89
    46
    20
    13
See reviews for
112
148
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I am in sales for a living, and I know that he very BEST opportunity to make someone a long time client is to resolve problems quickly and in the customer's favor whenever possible. And that is just what happened to my wife and I today at Interlaken. After a screwup by a hotel booking site, we were placed at Interlaken apparently without their full knowledge of the reservation package the web site gave us. Within just a few minutes, Kevin, the General Manager at he Inn straightened everything out and really went out of his way to apologize for the problem, which I am sure was not his fault in the first place.

Follow through is such an important part of the hospitality business and these days it is exercised by so few establishments. Obviously at Interlaken, they care about each, separate, individual customer's experience. Note that Kevin himself responds to every review on this site. That really says something about Interlaken. And they have earned my respect and my future business.

Joe Rufo

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeRufo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you, Mr. Rufo, for taking the time to write such kind words. I would never want the third party reservation organizations to affect any of our Guests' stays. We realize that there are enormous amounts of reservations booked through these organizations and once in a while there can be a slip up. At Interlaken we believe once the Guest books they become our Guest and, in most cases, our Guest for life. We look forward to seeing you when you visit the Lakeville area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I recently stayed at the Interlaken for Columbus Day weekend for a girls trip. We booked the wine package the hotel offered. It was a great experience! We booked 2 rooms. One of the rooms had the king size bed in the main hotel. The second room was the townhouse suites...not nearly as nice as the main hotel. That is the only downside to the property.
The staff is amaizing there! Check in and check out was a breeze. The wine package also included dinner at the hotels restaurants and a glass of wine. We were ready to pick from a pre-selected menu of limited choices...but not at Interlaken. We were able to choose any appetizers, entree and desert. The food was amazing! We each ordered something different...and everyone enjoyed their choices. The following morning we checked out with ease and headed to eat our included continential breafast. We were stunned again. The Interlaken offered hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, french toast, three differnet types of juices, bagels, muffins...etc. Interlaken goes above and beyond...and so does the staff! I can't remember her name, but the waitress at breakfast had to be one of the nicest ladies. Our group of gals all agreed...we are coming back in the spring.

Room Tip: Our room in the townhouse was not the greatest...but our friends stayed in the main hotel and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am so happy to hear that you all enjoyed our property for your girlfriend's getaway. Although the entire staff appreciates your comments, the Chefs and Brenda (the morning server you mentioned) are particularly pleased. Besides accomomodations in the main building, please let us know what else we can do to make your Spring visit an absolute perfect one. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our "first", and certainly not "last" trip to the Interlaken Inn was a wonderful surprise. The pet friendly accomodations at the Woodside, as well as the amenities in the Pet Package, were fabulous. I am so glad that we came a day early and we were able to take advantage of the beautiful grounds and enjoy sitting by the lake as we had such gorgeous weather. The staff are all wonderful and customer oriented and Morgan's Restaurant was superb!
We loved the Inn and hope to return again. This was the first time we travelled with our 14 year old toy poodle and it is so nice to find a place that accepts dogs into rooms that are immaculate instead of dilapidated rooms that still smell of dog.
Thanks to the entire staff for making our weekend so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you, Joan, for taking the time to write about your stay at Interlaken. I am so happy to hear you had a wonderful time and were pleased with the pet friendly accommodations. The Interlaken staff will appreciate your compliments as well. We do hope your return visit is also very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our stay at Interlaken this past weekend (Sept 2012) was perfect. It was an important occasion: The stay was a mini-vacation gift to our 10 year old son, Gram, who is a motorsport fanatic. It was his first official experience witnessing live racing (with the Saturday SCCA finals at Limerock Racepark) so we were looking for a place to rest and enjoy his enthusiasm.

Interlaken delivered in full…the room, the grounds, the dining…all perfect. He especially loved the second floor balcony to the room.

A unit with two full sized beds can tend to be tight for two adults and a young boy but this particular lodging ion the second floor of the main building was wonderful. We’re now curious about the other lodging options and fully intend to explore the potential there at our next visit to Interlaken and Limerock.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms all have pleasant balconies suitable for morning coffe and a nice evening res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you, James, for taking the time to write about your stay at Interlaken. I am so pleased you found Interlaken comfortable for your family. Lime Rock Park is the perfect setting to introduce him to the energy of live racing. Thank you for choosing Interlaken for such a special time in your son's life. We hope this is the first of many visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We arrived to Interlaken Inn on a crispy but sunny early Autumn afternoon. We enjoyed some relaxation while walking around their lovingly maintained property and then went canoeing on the peaceful lake.

Our room as clean and the furnishings were just right. It was not "over furnished" where we had to keep walking around the furniture to get around. The bathroom was newly renovated and we loved the products! I'd recommend staying in the Main Building on the second floor. While the room are more pricey, they are the newly renovated, quiet rooms as best as we could tell.

We spent time on our private balcony and were able to enjoy the fresh air while sipping our complimentary champagne.

To top it off, our dinner at Morgan's was delicious!

We are already looking forward to our next visit to Interlaken Inn!

Note that we did not use the Spa facilities, so we cannot comment on them at this time.

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed some time at our property during the fall season. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with other Tripadvisor readers. I hope you can find a time to come and relax and enjoy our property again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous New England resort. Lakefront property with canoes and kayaks a available, excellent restaurant, minutes from the famous Lime Rock racetrack and the prestigious Hotchkiss School.
Take a short ride to Stockbridge MA , home of the Norman Rockwell Museum and the Red Lion Inn. Have lunch there and go the the museum!

I love the Interlaken and am planning a family reunion there in 2013.

You'll love it too!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fairclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin B, General Manager at Interlaken Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments about your experience while visiting Interlaken. I am so pleased you enjoyed the property amenities and Morgan's restaurant, and also had the chance to visit the Norman Rockwell Museum in Stockbridge. It will be our pleasure to host your family reunion next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeville
2.9 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
80 reviews
18.8 mi away
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn
23.3 mi away
Grace Mayflower Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Great Barrington/Berkshires
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lenox Gre...
#2 of 10 in Great Barrington
285 reviews
1.7 mi away
Inn at Iron Masters
Inn at Iron Masters
#2 of 4 in Lakeville
13 reviews
11.4 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Interlaken Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Interlaken Inn

Property: Interlaken Inn
Address: 74 Interlaken Road, Route 112, Lakeville, CT 06039-2129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Lakeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Interlaken Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming country resort in the heart of New England with 78 gorgeous guestrooms on 30 manicured acres, nestled between shimmering lakes. All rooms have A/C, cable TV, DVD, phone and private bath. Complete with recreational facilities including tennis, outdoor heated swimming pool, health & fitness center, massages & spa services, gameroom, golf, canoes & kayaks, more... An abundance of cultural attractions and antiquing is nearby. Pet friendly accommodations and top-rated dining in Morgan's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Interlaken Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Interlaken Hotel Lakeville
Interlaken Resort Lakeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing