We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top notch in all ways” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woodland

The Woodland
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Lakeville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top notch in all ways”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Although it is an hour away from my house I try to lunch here frequently. Although I have never had dinner at Woodlands friends tell me the food is equally good.
Yesterday for lunch I gad a soft shell crab sandwich. My companions had a hangar steak, and a prosciutto sandwich. One of my friends started with egg plant soup, the other with a salad. We were all delighted with the food. In fact my friend who had the salad bought a container of the house buttermilk dill dressing to take home.
The service as usual was attentive without being intrusive. The prices are a bit high but well worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    49
    12
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Innovative menu and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This restaurant is becoming so popular that reservations need to be made well in advance and with good reason.

Situated on a wooded country road in rural Lakeville Connecticut, the Woodland Restaurant resonates with New England charm. Housed in a colonial home, the ambiance is warm and cozy. There are booths and tables in two separate rooms, both of which are very inviting.

The menu is extensive, offering a variety of dishes to please any palate. meat, fish, poultry or vegetarian are all available and prepared with the freshest local ingredients. The portions are
generous and special requests are cheerfully accommodated.

On a recent visit I ordered pistachio crusted salmon and my husband ordered filet of sole almondine. Both entrees were absolutely delicious. Be sure to save room for dessert. They are all homemade.

This is one of the best restaurants i have ever visited.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorgagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food, meh and service kind of dinerish...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The place is really beautiful on the outside and hoping on the inside, obviously very popular with regulars. I found the food to be OK and sometimes poor after dining a few times over the years. Service is sloppy. However, bar is great as well as wine list. It is fine, just not as good as some people have made it out to be.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We celebrated my husband's birthday at Woodland on a busy Saturday night. Service was excellent, meals were delicious and plentiful. We had a variety of appetizers including calamari, buffalo mozzarella salad and tempura vegetables. I had a salmon cooked to perfection and my daughter's tuna was equally delicious. Even a sushi platter that rivaled any Japanese restaurant. A must try if you are in Lakeville.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Msvannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
244 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“As much as I try to like this place, the food is average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Over the years I keep trying this restaurant and while I see all the wonderful reviews, the food just seems average and unexciting. They have decent wines and it is a bar scene for many people. Granted, there are not many restaurants in the NW corner area, but this is at the bottom of my list.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Woodland also viewed

 

Been to The Woodland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing