We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Wedding Weekend”
Review of Wake Robin Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lakeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wake Robin Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Lakeville B&B and Inns
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding Weekend”
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We were married at the Wake Robin Inn in June of 2008, and we couldn't have been happier with our choice. We didn't want a wedding that would be over and done with in 5 hours - after over a year of planning, we wanted more to show for it! The Wake Robin Inn allowed us to do exactly that. Most of our guests arrived on Friday night. Some had rehearsal dinner with us out on the back patio, and the rest joined us for drinks and desserts around a bonfire in the backyard. Dinner was wonderful - who knew barbecue could be so refined and delicious? It was a laid-back, fun way to start the weekend's festivities.

The next morning, all of our guests were treated to a lovely breakfast. We had our ceremony that afternoon out on the front lawn. The inn made a beautiful backdrop for our pictures, and I loved the dramatic entrance of walking down the grand staircase to meet my groom. Cocktail hour was held out back, and our guests loved the food, especially the brie and raspberry sauce in phyllo dough. We had our reception in the "ballroom," which was just the right size for our 72 guests. If we'd had many more it might have been a tight fit, but for 72 it was great. Dinner was delicious. I'm a vegetarian and almost all of our appetizers and main courses were meat-free, and we got nothing but raves about the food from our guests. My husband only wanted a red velvet wedding cake with white chocolate frosting, and Kevin (the chef) created one for us that was out of this world. Almost everyone slept at the inn that night so we didn't have to worry about anyone drinking and driving, which was a load off of our minds. And the next morning, we woke up to another hot breakfast and it was great to be surrounded by all our family and friends again, laughing about the funny things that had happened the night before.

I love that we had our wedding at the Wake Robin Inn. It didn't feel at all like a typical wedding-factory (catering hall) wedding. The other weddings I've been to all blend together in my mind after a while; ours was completely different and really suited our laid-back personalities. The inn has a "country" look to it, but inside it is elegant. Our guests loved that the wedding was more like a mini-vacation for them. People loved playing croquet and lawn darts that we set up in the back yard, or just sipping iced tea on the porch, listening to music and catching up with old friends.

Also, we were so involved in the planning of this wedding. Michael, the owner, went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. We visited the Wake Robin four times to plan various aspects of the wedding - setting up the details of how the weekend would run, food tasting, meeting with florists/hairdressers, cake selection - and were always treated so warmly and made to feel like friends. We don't live in the area and did not know much about the services around the Wake Robin, but Michael is a real professional and we trusted his advice, and things ran very smoothly. Our wedding is a memory we will always cherish, and having it at the Wake Robin Inn is a decision that I am so happy we made.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LI_Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
25
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, CT
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2009

Being at The Wake Robin Inn is a memory that I will have forever, and it's an amazing one. My whole wedding experience was a wonderful one. It's not one of those "Wedding Factories" that all do the same thing, they personalize your wedding to how you want it.

The guys played golf in the morning while the girls got ready for the big wedding. The Inn was looking amazing and extremly well kept. The wedding ceremony was on the front lawn and it was a beautiful afternoon with the sun going in and out of the clouds. The food at the Wake Robin was excellent and the wedding cake was truly AMAZING!!! We all danced and drank into the night having the best time ever. Also, we ended the ceremony around 9pm, but brought the party into their Irish pub. I don't think we emptied out and went to our rooms until 1:00am.

The people at the Wake Robin Inn, especially Michael, are amazing and very helpful. They were extremly flexible with our single night, small wedding. We thank them very much and we can't wait to go back and visit overnight. Probably on a St. Patty's Day : )

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FantasyFBL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2009

My husband and I recently experienced a night of luxury at the Wake Robin Inn. From the beautiful room to the attentive staff, ending with a homemade breakfast, this was a superb getaway for us. We were enchanted with Micheal, the Innkeeper, and were honored when he served us. What more can we say? Definitely put this place on your radar for a romantic getaway...you will not be disappointed.
Bev and Fred Schott,
Collinsville, CT

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Prescott324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2009

We were fortunate enough to have our wedding at the Wake Robin. Shaffin, the co-owner went out of his way to make it a perfect day for us. The Inn itself is incredibly charming and the staff could not have been more welcoming and warm. This is one very special place. We look forward to a return visit - as do many of our friends who attended the wedding.

Peter and Jerry
Rhinebeck, NY

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

We held our entire wedding in October at the Wake Robin and could not have been more pleased with a wonderful and amazing weekend! Most of our guests opted to stay at the Inn, and the Inn was full of family and friends. Our rehearsal dinner was on the back patio, complete with a bonfire and s'mores after the sun went down. (Which when it did, we didn't notice because there were heaters under the tent provided, which was a great touch.) The ceremony took place on the front lawn, and then all of the guests humored us with a group photo on the steps. :) The food at the reception was delicious, including our Wedding Pie sounded with mini pies, which the Inn created for us in place of a wedding cake (we love pie). Every night, family and friends gathered in the pub and around on the comfy sofas to hang out. I think what makes the Wake Robin stand apart from other venues and hotels are the personal touches, like the ability to hang out and be totally comfortable all weekend long. Or the cookies in the lobby (request your favorite!), the hot cider or bottled water, providing batteries to my grandmother when her camera died during the reception, or giving you the best scoop on where to go for dinner (and when to go!). We would highly recommend the Wake Robin as a place to hold a special event, or just as a place to crash on the weekend after hiking (as we've done in the past).

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mgoblueNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT.
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2008

From the moment we met the staff at the Wake Robin we knew this was the place for our civil union. Michael, Shaffin and the rest of the staff were incredibly supportive and guided us through the entire process of planning our union. We had family and friends traveling from all over so we knew we wanted a place that would accommodate us for the weekend. We knew it was going to be a great time but it exceeded our expectations as well as our family and friends. Every detail was thought of from the warm cider and homeade cookies on Friday when most of the guests and ceremony party arrived, to the fantastic dinner on Saturday and finally the send off breakfast on Sunday. It was truly a dream come true for us. Thank-you so much, Michael, Shaffin and the rest of the staff for making our weekend an amazing experience!!

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo, ny
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2008

What a nice place to stay for my husband's 60th birthday surprise ! I bought him a day at the nearby Skip Barber Racing School, and the Wake Robin was the perfect place to stay. We had a room in the "annex" which is attached to the main building, and found it to be very spacious and comfortable. Logs were provided for the in-room fireplace, and it was very cozy.

My only criticism would be that for the cost, I think a nice breakfast could be provided. The cold breakfast was fine, but we are used to a "special" morning meal at the B & B's that we stay in.

The staff was wonderful, and I would highly recommend this property.

  • Liked — cleanliness and atmosphere
  • Disliked — no on-site restaurant
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank homegirlchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeville
2.0 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
16.6 mi away
Days Inn Great Barrington
Days Inn Great Barrington
#3 of 9 in Great Barrington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
23.7 mi away
Grace Mayflower Inn & Spa
Grace Mayflower Inn & Spa
#1 of 1 in Washington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inn at Iron Masters
Inn at Iron Masters
#3 of 4 in Lakeville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
10.6 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hilltop House  Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wake Robin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wake Robin Inn

Property: Wake Robin Inn
Address: 106 Sharon Rd, Route 41, Lakeville, CT 06039-2110
Location: United States > Connecticut > Lakeville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lakeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 28-room country inn on private hilltop setting, northwest Connecticut.Perfect for weddings, reunions, retreats and corporate gatherings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wake Robin Hotel Lakeville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing