We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Dining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pastorale - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pastorale
Cuisines: American, French, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
NYC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“OK Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had a perfectly good meal, with pleasant service, in this old tavern-like restaurant. It is billed as French, but it's basic American food, just fine as is.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank keithofrpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwest Corner, Connecticut
Level Contributor
172 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Yummy food; wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I know that there have been negative comments about the service; so I have to begin this review with the admission that it refers to a dinner my wife and I had on a Wednesday night between the end of the summer tourist season and the beginning of the fall foliage season. There were therefore not the crowded conditions high season, or even a weekend, might bring. On this night, though, our experience with service was exemplary -- both personal and efficient. And the food was simply marvelous. There is a set of $15 specials, one of which, the crab cake sandwich my wife loved. I ordered off the regular menu and had a caesar salad that was marvelous and penne pasta with homemade sausage that was even better. We normally skip dessert, but we are both suckers for a really good bread pudding, and there it was on the menu, with bourbon sauce, berries and ice cream -- to die for!

We were, by the way, in a romantic corner booth, complete with candle. Lovely experience in every way.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RevL05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I would give a higher rating if there were more service staff.
A private party downstairs,
And a large party upstairs caused for a very long wait.
Good menu and fine food.
I would return on a less crowded night.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ahboo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
147 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice dinner on the porch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

My friend and I enjoyed a delicious dinner on the porch. Service was attentive and the meals and wine were great. Dessert was the best!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravelertoday48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautifully prepared food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Charming, cozy atmosphere, and the food was beautifully prepared and quite delicious. Pricey -- but worth it if the occasion is special. Service was a bit on slow side, but overall the experience we had was lovely.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieGreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastorale also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing