We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great regional culinary blend with some old World style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pastorale - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pastorale
Cuisines: American, French, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neshanic Station,NJ
Level Contributor
221 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great regional culinary blend with some old World style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Brunch on a quiet Sunday noon, not so. We preferred to make this our main dining experience of the day and went for the full menu.
Few regulars obviously repeat patrons came to lunch with friends. We were greeted kindly and offered a late season seat outside on the sheltered and shaded porch. We declined. It was a bit too chilly to our liking and we took a booth inside across from the bar.
One of the two beers on draft is my favorite - Hoegaarden Witte. The wine bar is descent for by the glass and bottle offering, yet no Connecticut wines.
The menu is a Europe American blend with reasonable portion sizes and a diverisity of meat, fish or vegetarian offerings. The Rhode Island calamari were cooked tender and served with a tasteful salad.
The entrees were fine and nice presented on the plates. Fish and meats tasted good. Service was friendly and attentive. We kept room for tasteful dessert with a perfect served hot double espresso.
The restaurant is not too large and seating is spread over the first floor, keeping possibly the noise down when more guests dine. The walls are decorated with black and white pictures with ancient farming scenes from Europe.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GoeieWitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    20
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good French bistro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Always enjoy a visit here. Food traditional and well prepared, good service. Also some creative dishes as well. Nice bar area

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Loved this restaurant. Food and service were great. We sat on the outside deck which was enclosed with grapevines. Made it feel private and cozy. I would Highly recommend Pastorale

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rbskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, CT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“FANTASTIQUE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Pastorale is a little French Bistro in a charming old house located in Lakeville, Connecticut. It truly is fantastique/fantastic!

We were out for a ride last Sunday, and found Pastorale in this charming little town. We did not have a reservation and arrived aound 5:00 PM We were greeted warmly and asked if we would prefer the dinning room ,or the tavern. Both rooms have much charm. The dinning room is more formal with beautifully set tables and a lovely old fireplace. The tavern boasts a nice bar, tables and booths. We chose to eat in the tavern. We were shown to a booth immediately, our server and bartender, Brian took our drink order right away, and gave us our menus. The atmosphere in the tavern makes one think that you are in France, the setting, listening to French music and the atmosphere, are wonderful.

We told Brian that we were not in a hurry, and we were not rushed. The tavern and dinning room were filling up, yet we still felt that we were in a very special place. My husband ordered the Grilled Garlic Saucisson & Grilled Figs, a featured special, to start with and I ordered off the regular menu, the Baked Baby Pears, with blue cheese, prosciutto, frisee & haricots vert salad.
Both of these starters were fantastic, in presentation, flavor and portions. I ordered the Grilled French Cut Pork Chop, off of the regular menu, and my husband ordered the special Pan-Seared Grouper. Both dinners were perfection, from presentation, service and the quality of the food.

The menu at Pastorale has a good variety of foods to chose from and are well executed.

The owners, Fredec and Karen have done an exceptional job with this restaurant. Ron, was the chef who prepared our meals, and I must say to Fredec and Karen, keep doing what you are doing, as the food, atmosphere and service were impeccable. It shows that your staff is not only very well trained, but happy-a rare treat in today's world. Although we did not eat in the dinning room, we could tell that the service was excellent, as well.

Pastorale is a very special restaurant and we look forward to having many meals there. it is well worth the 50 minute drive for us.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzannedavenport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastorale also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing