We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY THE BEST”
Review of Taverna Axiotissa

Taverna Axiotissa
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Kastraki
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $25
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are getting prepared to open in 8th of April, one week before Easter. Tavern with Mediterranean and Greek cuisine.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

This is by far the very best of the best place to eat. Greek with a twist it has an imaginative and totally delicious menu which changes and evolves seasonally. The atmosphere is great and the staff are fantastically welcoming and efficient. Just love this place

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 227131Susan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 843 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2018

Axiotissa was a total delight. Very pleasant knowledgeable servers, pretty bougainvillea covered terrace, and the food was remarkable. Some of the clearest flavors I have had anywhere in Greece. There are interesting salads that go way beyond the normal offerings, lots of delicious sounding veggie dishes and outstanding
Organic meats from the chef’s family farm. We enjoyed a rich goat dish with rosemary, the goat having been slow roasted in parchment. There was a delicious warm chick pea salad with turmeric and saffron, lemon and excellent olive oil. My husband’s pork chops were some of the most flavorful pork we’ve ever had. Very good house wine. Prices are comparable to other tavernas for this food which is WAY above the norm.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank GreatDaysInParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

... a collection of flavors and stories that we are always looking forward to experiencing. Its location, as is its sign at the street entrance is unassuming; the real treat is inside. This is the place where regulars of the island go for dinner every night, and for good reason. Starting with the nice calligraphy on the blackboard and ending up on your table, the daily specials never disappoint (I'll be dreaming about the fresh baked cheese and figs pies all winter).
Yiannis, the chef, crafts all his dishes with fresh and high quality, carefully selected ingredients, breaking out of stereotypes and, at the same time, honoring the local and regional recipes that fuel his inspiration. A collection of his thoughts, recipes and their stories is now published in his new book. The original Greek version is on display at the tavern.
The members of the staff led by Sofia have been the same for years, a cohesive group of very nice, interesting and honest people who know exactly how things work, and who work together and help each other as friends, not only as teammates. We can’t imagine Axiotissa without them, and we can’t imagine Naxos without Axiotissa.
We went there with an open mind and discovered delightful delicate flavors, and with an open heart, wonderful people, all with their fascinating stories.
And the delicious deserts are all homemade! Need we say more? :)

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sorin62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2018 via mobile

We visited Axiotissa with a family of 2 kids in August for dinner. We booked a table in advance as it was very crowded due the the high summer season.
The place itself is very nice, modern Greek decoration and authentic. The service was excellent, quick and simple. The food... we did not know what to choose from the menu as everything seemed delicious and it really was. One of the specialities is fig in the oven filled with graviera (gruyere)!!! The House rose wine was also delicious. I strongly recommend Axiotissa if you would like to eat very high quality food cooked the Greek way !

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 516vivis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

Good restaurant with simple but delicious food. Have been there three times and will definitely come again. Recommend to book table for dinner in advance (same day reservation is enough). Staff behave themselves like super stars, so not always responsive and kind.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank rbbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Axiotissa also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Axiotissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing