We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This way to the Falls”

Kent Falls State Park
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Kent
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Branford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This way to the Falls”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Fun little day out in Kent. The falls are small but you can make your ascent to the top where you can stop at the last platform or be adventures and carry on to the very top . People were splashing around having fun in the water .. We had not had a lot of rain prior but it was still very relaxing to watch and hear..There are steps and railings to hold onto so it is not a dangerous climb but, very steep just go slow if you have trouble climbing up steep stairs well worth the trip and we sat below for a nice relaxing lunch. It would be lovely anytime of the year the surrounding area is very pretty..They have picnic tables and little grills at each location good spot for an all day event! well maintained. I did not have to pay for parking was during the week..If I had to pay the $15.00 for the time I was there I do not think it would have been reasonable however, for all day yes!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    86
    23
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Beautiful little park and waterfall that is absolutely worth a visit. I would have given this place 5 stars if they had an actual restroom instead of some very disgusting port-o-johns next to some equally disgusting dumpsters. Don't let that stop you though, just go to the bathroom first.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Visit during the week”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Nice little park, but on weekends has a National Park price tag ($15 per car). The hike takes about 25 minutes for the loop with kids in tow with a modest elevation gain - with some nice vistas along the way (more cascades than waterfalls).

There's definitely lots of rules (from the parking attendant) - you can't go near or in the water any point, and going off trail is a punishable offense.

Go during the week, it's free and not many people

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank cgasbarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great scenic destination for CT locals and visitors!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is always a nice place to visit for every season! Families, couples, dogs, all partake in the great outdoors. Nice spot for a photo-op.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank TSAS64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pricey but Well Maintained”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had a really nice visit. $15 for out of state car to park seems a bit much, but they do a nice job of maintaining the place and there were plenty of staff around, so in the end we felt that it was well worth it. Next time will bring so burgers and franks to grill on the grills on the lawn. Nice hike up to picturesque falls

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rbneuronyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kent Falls State Park also viewed

 

Been to Kent Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing