We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time or money!”
Review of Club Getaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Getaway
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kent
Reviewed September 15, 2007

DON'T BOTHER WITH THIS PLACE. Just returned from a Baby Boomer's Singles weekend at Club Getaway what false advertising if I every saw it. Every age is allowed in and we also had families with small children, college students, and employees from a company. The cabin was dirty, a window pane was missing, drapes didn't cover the whole window, only one light worked and the fan on the heater didn't work so we froze all night. When we complained, we were told that how were they supposed know that these things were wrong if we didn't tell them. Doesn't anyone there check over the cabins. There was no Activities Director or anyone with much knowlege of what was going to happen on Saturday when it was raining. The best part was that on Saturday night at the show/dance the staff was drunk and groping each other and on the floor on top of each other, what a lovely sight. There are no are no locks on the door so be careful there were drunk men following women around and knocking on doors trying to get in. Definitely a scary place for women traveling alone. There is no Management in sight so don't bother looking for it. only young kids doing internships from other countries. Was not expecting alot and this definitely proved to be nothing. The camp doesn't seem to care what happens to anyone just as long as they fill the camp. Spent many year's at camp and also camp, so I wasn't expecting the Ritz but this didn't even come close to what it is advertised to be.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank lar956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
There are newer reviews for Club Getaway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 225 of 225 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2007

If you are looking to relax or for an adventure, Club Getaway is a stop shop. I went by myself and never felt alone. The staff, volunteers and guests were the best. The entire weekend is about being yourself and experiencing new things.

By no means is Club Getaway the Ritz, but the hospitality is top notch. The food was terrific. There was a perfect balance of everyday life and living rustic.

There were so many activities that I need to go back and I it will be well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harleygirl216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

This is a one of a kind place on the east coast for active singles!! Do not expect posh accomodations. I was a little nervous going alone. After staying there I learned most people go solo. The rooms are shared cabins and prepare to rough it and have a good time. I was able to hike, bike and party all night all in one very beautiful secluded property. The food is family style type dinners but the breakfasts and lunches alone are worth the price with nice buffets.;If you are looking to kick back relax and meet a ton of cool young professionals this is the place to stay. It is no clubmed but has its own vibe. There is a very nice mix of people from the entire east coast on holiday weekends!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

It's camp for adults, for goodness sake! I didn't expect a 5 star hotel. The bunk was clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. The food was great with plenty of it. If you can't find an activity that interests you, you're at the wrong place. I felt like I was 12 again.
Only bad thing.....my roommate snored like a freight train. Not Club Getaway's fault.

Stayed: July 2007
3  Thank yma222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2007

Bug infected cabins,overflowing toilets,lake gross. So bad we stayed up all night outside the cabin.

Junk bicycles, small mothball smelling old movie threatre. Food was o.k. bunk beds broken. We went with a group and could'nt wait to leave.

Stayed: August 2006
22  Thank atlanticdare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2007

Most of the activities have limited capacity so you need to wait early in line if you want to do them. Many are only open an hour or two a day. The lake is small and disgusting and has vegitation that gets scooped up when you paddle. Most of the time my cabin did not have hot water for the showers. Club Getaway falsely advertised windsurfing as an activity and made no attempt to make up this lack of service despite all my attempts. Dinner meals aren't served until very late at night. Customer service was the worst I have ever seen. Don't expect any satisfaction guarantees. I don't recommend club getaway to anyone.

22  Thank TriRunnerCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kent
9.3 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
92 reviews
10.1 mi away
Grace Mayflower Inn and Spa
13.3 mi away
The Litchfield Inn, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Newbury Inn
Newbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Brookfield
62 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Rocky River Inn
The Rocky River Inn
#2 of 3 in New Milford
83 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Cornwall Inn
The Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Cornwall
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Getaway

Address: 59 S Kent Rd, Kent, CT 06757-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Kent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kent
Price Range: $169 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Getaway is a 300 acre sports, fun and adventure destination, situated on a private lake, locate in Kent, CT in the foothills of the Berkshire Mountains. Customized programs are developed for schools, camps, corporate retreats, and weddings. For 15 weekends over the Spring, Summer, and Fall, Club Getaway operates retail weekends that provide a “Summer Camp for Adults” experience. Guests will have the opportunity to participate in activities such as hiking, biking, climbing, as well as just relaxing by the waterfront. Each night Club Getaway will host unique, fun and engaging parties with live entertainment and great food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Club Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Getaway Hotel Kent
Getaway Hotel Kent
Getaway Resort Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing