We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Well Organized Fun Weekend”
Review of Club Getaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Getaway
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kent
Wappingers Falls
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Very Well Organized Fun Weekend”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I reguarly spend at least one weekend at Club Getaway. They attract very friendly people who want to get involved with as many activities as they can. The staff is very dedicated to making sure we find the activities which interest us and are concerned for our safety and fun. The food is delicious and the venue is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GLeinkram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    43
    15
    8
    24
See reviews for
28
25
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glendora, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2013

There is no lack of fun and adventure at Club Getaway! Whether you want to sit by the lake and read a book or involve yourself in your choice of endless activities, you will have a good time. The food selections at each meal is out of this world, not to mention yummy! Coffee and tea available all weekend long. At each meal, they supply water and at each dinner, there is water and wine on your table. The only thing you have to pay extra for is soda and alcoholic beverages (minus the wine at dinner). So if you are a drinker, be prepared to pay out-of-pocket for that. I did Boomers weekend and the activities ranged from archery, trapeze, pole dancing (ladies only!), hiking, bike riding, water skiing, archery, volleyball, karaoke, zip line, color wars, evening dances, live band at dinner Saturday night, and a 1920's theme dance following dinner on Saturday night and more! The staff was courteous and helpful throughout the weekend. My friend and I had a cabin that slept four, and we lucked out with two lovely roommates. You can lock up your keys, wallets and money in the office so you don't have to worry about it all weekend, but if you need it, it's available to you. Register early to take advantage of the lovely goodie bag which included a really nice Club Getaway fleece jacket. Can't beat the activities and the adventure for the price. Met lots of lovely people and made a few new friends as well. Just do it! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJGal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayer, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

It was everything I had dreamed of and more. I never went to camp as a kid, so when I found this I signed up. It was worth every dime. Its two days later and I am still talking about it. I have been in 39 of our 50 states and hands down this was the best trip. Lots of great out door activities to try, wonderful food, friendly outstanding staff.
Will go back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babshere2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briarcliff Manor, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I went with a friend last weekend. Didn't know what to expect, as I hadn't heard much about the place. After checking out the website and a few reviews, I figured I'd give Club Getaway a shot. And I'm glad I did! I'm writing this review because it's the Thursday after the weekend and I'm still thinking about what a great time I had. Everything was better than expected- the food, the activities, the staff were all exceptional. And I didn't expect to get to know the other guests and like them as much as I did, in such a short time.

Some of my fondest memories are of sleep away camp when I was a kid. Club Getaway brought those memories back to life. It also reminded me of some of the all-inclusive vacations I've had more recently. While you won't find the beaches of Anguilla here, the lake and grounds are beautiful- well maintained and rustic. And I tend to be a bit disappointed by the food at higher end resorts (Cap Juluca, Gansevoort, to name a few). But this was not the case at Club Getaway. It was a bit of a shock, during that first dinner, the setting reminded me very much of camp as I was getting to know my new friends at the table, but the food was actually good (food I remember at camp was not like this). We slept in a bunk, not luxurious, but more than adequate, especially with the maid service, much better than I'd ever had at camp. The staff seemed devoted to making sure the guests got what they needed. Many were "weekenders," had been working there for years, they seemed to love the place and to want others to feel the same. And the the nightlife was a blast. Top shelf liquor at reasonable prices (by NYC standards). On the last night they had their buccaneers ball, which was an impressive production. Many dressed as pirates and wenches. Though I didn't costume up, I enjoyed the nightclub vibe. And at the other end of the the beach was a completely different scene, a bonfire with dueling guitars, which I discovered later in the night and thoroughly enjoyed. Wish I could have stayed longer.

Club Getaway is clearly a well run operation and I highly recommend the place. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mek2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

It was a blast, if you like out door activities this is the place for you. If you like night life, its for you. MY only downfall is price of drink, ON top of the average 350+ up person for the weekend, you would expect at least a disctount a liquor. Nope. Pretty much 7 bucks per Jack Daniels. THERE IS NO FREE SODA. You must pay for everything but tap water. Insane So 400 bucks got me 2 dinners, 2 breakfats and a lunch. Along with some activities. For 200 more dollars i could have got to Cancun, where drinks are free. But aside from Drinking, everything was great. Favorite person i met there was an Employee. His name was Ken. IF he wasnt happy to be there it sure fooled me.Ken was our Tennis instructor, and then after that it seemed he was everywhere, doing everything.. Always happy to help, always smiling, even after clearly working 14 strait hours or more. Haveing the prviilage of meeting Ken made the trip. Not many good people out there, glad we met him. Hope he sees this! Ryan and Jen (Tennis)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My friends and I kept seeing ads for Club Getaway and it seemed too good to be true. We finally spent a weekend there last year and had so much fun we just went back last weekend. It's almost impossible to describe the adventure! It's literally camp for adults when an endless supply of fun and beverages. Boring stuff first....the cabins are clean, big enough and air conditioned. The food is FABULOUS!! Now on to the fun. On Friday night you get an itinerary for all weekend activities. There is so much to do there is no way to participate in everything you want in one weekend. This year we tried water skiing, hiking (to kegs located throughout the course!), arts and crafts, bungee trampoline, flip cup, kayaking, kan jam and karaoke. Which left plenty of time for chilling by the lake and meeting new friends. The staff are amazing. The full timers are mostly from the UK, are gorgeous and have adorable accents. The weekend staff are totally there to make sure you have fun. The "campers" were couples, singles and groups. We met so many fantastic people! We have already planned on going back next year at the same time so we can all see each other again. Plus I never got around to trying the trapeze....that's on my bucket list! All of these activities are free - where else does THAT happen!? There is no downside to this awesome place.

Room Tip: We have always had a room by the lake and it's terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The cabins were pretty nice and rustic. Of course no televisions so that sort of stunk but that;s what helped make it have the camp feel. There are a limited number of outlets so try to make that work. There is an A/C and a fan so the rooms will get nice and cold in the hot summer. The food was alright and the activities were really fun. The hike in the mountains was beautiful! The workers were really nice and they were all from foreign countries from some program so that was kind of cool. I recommend not going with a camp group but just with a couples or singles trip. Oh and last but not least there is wifi, but since everyone would be on the network it will be really slow so don't use it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kent
9.3 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
90 reviews
10.1 mi away
Grace Mayflower Inn and Spa
13.3 mi away
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Le Chambord Hotel
Le Chambord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hopewell Junction
211 reviews
14.8 mi away
Newbury Inn
Newbury Inn
#1 of 1 in Brookfield
61 reviews
19.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Getaway

Property: Club Getaway
Address: 59 S Kent Rd, Kent, CT 06757-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Kent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Getaway is a 300 acre sports, fun and adventure destination, situated on a private lake, locate in Kent, CT in the foothills of the Berkshire Mountains. Customized programs are developed for schools, camps, corporate retreats, and weddings. For 15 weekends over the Spring, Summer, and Fall, Club Getaway operates retail weekends that provide a “Summer Camp for Adults” experience. Guests will have the opportunity to participate in activities such as hiking, biking, climbing, as well as just relaxing by the waterfront. Each night Club Getaway will host unique, fun and engaging parties with live entertainment and great food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Club Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Getaway Hotel Kent
Getaway Hotel Kent
Getaway Resort Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing