We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Getaway Is the Weekend Vacation!”
Review of Club Getaway

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Getaway
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kent
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Club Getaway is such a unique experience.. there really isn’t anything else like it… other then maybe Club Med. I started going to Club Getaway a few years ago instead of flying on these ridiculously expensive vacations. I find that I have a better experience and that it is such a great all-inclusive priced resort, compared to other vacations. I now get away for multiple long weekend vacations, and skip the one overpriced vacation and I am so happy that I did. If you are looking to relax, and go on vacation but cannot afford the hassle, price, time off to fly away… go here you will be happy you did… you will probably even have a way better time than other over priced/time consuming getaways.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilovepets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 227 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2011

If you are looking for a place to meet lots of new people while trying all sorts of new adventures… this is the place to go. It is just like going back to the camp that you experienced as a kid but this time it’s for adults! They have everything from ziplining, and waterskiing to keg baseball and wine tasting. But truthfully what I enjoyed the most was hanging out on the beach, drinking a beer and watching the sun go down, knowing that the party in the boathouse club was about to begin.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank svf244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Do your self a favor and do not come here! Club getaway is the worst place you could possibly book a trip to. The cabins were disgusting! I went their with a teen summer camp and the minute my friend and I walked in we were immediately disgusted my the cabin. The linens were gross ( if you still want to go, make sure you bring your own: I did). The locks on the cabin are absolutely broken! Don't listen to what the staff says, they are broken! Anyone could come into your cabin at any time. This bathroom was the grossest thing I've ever seen! The sink was dirty, the toilet was broken, the shower had a RUBBER CAR MAT in it because the shower floor was cracked and stained. Besides from the disgusted cabins, the food was absolutely terrible and extremely limited. For lunch, they ran out of pizza and watermelon. They asked you: " would you like mozzarella sticks, fish sticks, and/or rice?" the food was terrible. Then for dinner, they expected 5 teenagers and 4 counselors to share 10 chicken nuggets and curly fries along with a bowl of shredded iceberg lettuce with shredded carrots. The counselors asked for another dish and they returned with 5 chicken nuggets. Then breakfast was the same situation. Then, they expected us to share 10 skinny French toast sticks, 3 half pints of regular milk, 3 half pints of chocolate milk, and 4 on the go packs of cereal. Again, the counselors asked for more food and the plate was returned with 6 French toast sticks ( not even enough to go around with). The lunch for the next day was hamburgers and hot dogs. The hot dogs were fine but the burgers didn't even taste like a hamburger. It tasted more like a breakfast sausage. They have pasta for vegetarians but the sauce the provide is watery. The salad bar is also an option but all of the camps were sticking their hands in it, so I kind of avoided it. The trip was fun because I was with my friends but I could do the same activities anywhere. Don't bother wasting your time here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Dancerdancer1234577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
getaway2381, Manager at Club Getaway, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

I am sorry to hear that you have had a negative experience with our kid’s camp program. It is very important to us that we offer the perfect camp experience for kids and counselors alike. I would love the opportunity to discuss this with you and to go over the circumstances of your stay. You can reach me at 877-746-7529 I am always available 10am until 6pm Monday through Friday.

Thank you for your time, and I look forward to speaking with you!

Kat, Marketing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Tons of activities of all varieties. Don't necessarily have to do all adventurous things. There are activities for everyone!

Tips: Signing up for activites must be done early. They start the sign up sheets even before the osted time. Be there for sign up about 1/2 hour befor ethe time they tell you.

Large variety of food to choose. Breakfast lines are long though (especially for omlettes) so go early.

Club counselors are very friendly

Room Tip: Basic. A/C, bed, and bathroom. A step above camping. Very cute from outside though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelissaRiehle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I went to Club Getaway for the first time last year. I liked it so much that I went 3 more times. I highly
recommend Club Getaway as the perfect “Getaway” for the weekend. Cabins are great, food is amazing,
and getting out into the country is the best!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BenjaminV43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We came here with 40 middle school kids. We stayed for 4 days. The kids loved it! The cabins are rustic. They are air conditioned though. The beds are hard. There are LOTS of bugs even during the day! The food was AWFUL! If you like fried food and pasta everyday then you're good. There is a lot of waiting for activities but, they are great activities! If you are afraid of heights or have any problems with knees, ankles, back or hips DON'T DO THE HIKING!!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED! The eagles are flying below you on the hike!
The staff is fabulous! They are very helpful. We had Amy and Bally.
I would recommend this for kids. I heard they have a great time on the weekend with adults.

Room Tip: bring bug spray!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaritaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

When i first found this place online it looked like a fun exciting way to spend my weekend. The showers and cabins were GROSS! The food was ok and the activities were about what you would expect. Kent was a lovely town and very fun to explore, the only thing i didnt like was when a truck full of rednecks drove by with a rebel flag on the back... me being African American i was a little shocked. Overall i had alot of fun but its just not worth the money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Robby12371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kent
9.3 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
109 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Litchfield Inn, BW Premier Collection
10.1 mi away
Grace Mayflower Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
90 reviews
19.7 mi away
Heritage Hotel
Heritage Hotel
#1 of 2 in Southbury
446 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Rocky River Inn
The Rocky River Inn
#2 of 3 in New Milford
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Getaway

Address: 59 S Kent Rd, Kent, CT 06757-1701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Kent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kent
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Getaway is a 300 acre sports, fun and adventure destination, situated on a private lake, locate in Kent, CT in the foothills of the Berkshire Mountains. Customized programs are developed for schools, camps, corporate retreats, and weddings. For 15 weekends over the Spring, Summer, and Fall, Club Getaway operates retail weekends that provide a “Summer Camp for Adults” experience. Guests will have the opportunity to participate in activities such as hiking, biking, climbing, as well as just relaxing by the waterfront. Each night Club Getaway will host unique, fun and engaging parties with live entertainment and great food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Club Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Getaway Hotel Kent
Getaway Hotel Kent
Getaway Resort Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing