We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Starbuck Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Kent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in the fall for a long weekend in Kent. Here are some of the highlights:

PROS
The location is fantastic. On the edge of town, just far enough away to be quiet and secluded enough, while still close to all the shops and restaurants. For both nights of our stay, we walked to a restaurant in town and the walk was very pleasant.

The breakfasts were great - very tasty, and they had no problem accommodating our preferences. There was a nice variety of afternoon snacks and tea each day as well.

The rooms were nice - very spacious and airy with complimentary bottles of water. Had a nice rustic feel, but with modern conveniences.

The property was beautiful and had a nice pastoral feel. The gardens in the backyard were a pleasure to look at and walk through.

Peter was very welcoming right from the start. Very willing to answer any questions we had about activities and dining options, and even made a restaurant reservation for us during afternoon tea as we were just chatting about where to eat.

CONS
Not really any other than some spider webs in the bathroom. Not what my wife wanted to see, but when you operate in a natural rustic setting, it is understandable.


We would definitely stay here again if we came back to Kent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jokerbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    20
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
103
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, CT
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My fiance and I chose this bed and breakfast to have an intimate wedding ceremony close to the shops and restaurants of Kent. We were pleasantly surprised by how beautiful the B&B is in person and by our wonderful host, Peter Starbuck. Peter has left no stone unturned in the hosting department, from the well-appointed rooms to the warm, cozy living room to the delicious breakfasts and high tea. We enjoyed admiring the old character of the inn, while appreciating the updated commodities, such as the deep soaking tub in our room. Peter graciously took pictures of our ceremony in his lovely back yard and we were thrilled to have "Ruby" the chocolate lab make an appearance (Ruby is kept in Peter's residence section of the inn, away from guests, unless requested). We will be back every year!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldersburg, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

A beautiful and well-maintained B&B in Kent, CT. We were greeted upon arrive by Peter Starbuck, the proprietor, and offered a nice afternoon tea service. Just a short drive away, there is a charming little main street full of shops and restaurants, and just a stone's throw from an excellent covered bridge. The accommodations were very nice and the breakfast was excellent. If you're going to be anywhere near Kent, this is a good place to spend a night or two.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The building is a recently renovated, partly new, traditional wooden Connecticut house, with about ten large, airy bedrooms. The owner, Peter Starbuck (no relation, as far as we could tell, to the coffee shop chain), runs the show in an affable, extrovert but quite determined manner. The rooms were clean, although the carpet should have been vacuumed each day. Breakfasts were quirky, with Peter keeping the actual menu secret until it appeared on the table, and included items such as apple sausage, blueberry pancakes, butternut squash quiche, and good coffee, but sadly they were rather nouvelle-cuisine and there was no choice. This shortcoming was made up for by the provision of an ample afternoon tea at four o’clock in front of the log fire, when we were given Italian pastries, cheese, paté, and other nibbles, as well as tea, apple juice and sherry.

The inn is a few minutes’ walk from the centre of Kent, a neat, tidy and rather twee little town, with a range of restaurants – mostly pretty overpriced. The Appalachian Trail can be accessed within a mile or so: very beautiful but 2,200 miles long.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Starbucks Inn
An elegant Inn in a very good position in Kent, which is a charming small, New England town.
The Inn is spacious and comfortable and has a really beautiful outlook at the back where the breakfast room is located.
There are several good restaurants within walking distance. Note though that in October they do not all open every day.
Peter, the host, is an interesting guy and looked after us very well. Breakfasts were excellent.
Tea is provided in the afternoon but it would be nice to be able to make a hot drink at other times. Just providing a vacuum flask of hot water and tea bags/coffee would be all it takes.
.........on the other hand Peter does provide sherry for his guests in the lounge so things weren’t so bad!
Overall we very much enjoyed our stay here.
Bryan and Ann D
UK

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanDCrowboroughUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Kent. It's a lovely area and the town is full of character. The Inn is just what you would expect; a charming clapboard house in a large garden. Peter Starbuck is a delightful host and we found the accommodation spacious, comfortable and clean. There are very good restaurants in town. 'Smoked' is new and serves great food. 'The Fife and Drum' is full of New England charm; busy with pretty good food.

We would have preferred some choice at breakfast, with some simple uncooked alternatives.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room in the very nice extension is large and airy - lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nige56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west country
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Afternoon tea is tea from a pot, small sandwiches followed by homemade cakes and scones, not green tea from a thermos and shop bought cookies.
The living room felt like a museum and although it was a cold rainy day the fire was not lit, so we did not linger in there.
Our room at the back of the house was a good size but the radiator (cold) was full of dust.
The bathroom was tiny with just a shower and toilet and was grubby with a stained shower curtain. The hand basin was in the bedroom so no privacy and had no shelf space for washbags etc.
We could hear conversation and TV noise from the next room.
Breakfast was ok but no choice.
Peter didn't seem to be a natural host and his appearance from the kitchen in the morning in grubby trousers and unshaven was poor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcountrybasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kent
10.8 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
88 reviews
11.0 mi away
Grace Mayflower Inn and Spa
13.1 mi away
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Cornwall Inn
The Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Cornwall
149 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Rocky River Inn
The Rocky River Inn
#2 of 3 in New Milford
79 reviews
19.3 mi away
Curtis House Inn
Curtis House Inn
#1 of 5 in Woodbury
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starbuck Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starbuck Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Starbuck Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 88 N Main St, Kent, CT 06757-1539
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Kent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kent
Hotel Class:3 star — Starbuck Inn Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Starbuck Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starbuck Inn b&b
Starbuck Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing