We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice area, very clean inn”
Review of Inn at Kent Falls

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Kent Falls
Ranked #2 of 7 Kent B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My husband and I resently spent a long weekend at the inn to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. When we made the reservation we mentioned that but nothing was said about it when we arrived or during our stay.

When we arrived we were greeted by a young girl. Although she was pleasant she did not tell us her name (we found that out the next day) nor did she ask us if we wanted a tour of the house (we asked her if we could have one). We felt a bit unattended to and on our own.

The house is charming and IMMACULATE. The common rooms are very comfortable with television, fireplace, and free internet. We stayed in the Meadows room with the queen bed. The furnishings were charming and the room was clean and well appointed. Although it was facing the main road (not a busy road - Rt 7), the room was quiet. We got to our room and started unpacking and I noticed the room was on a slant. I also noticed the slant when I kept unconsciously rolling into the middle of the bed during the night! I jokingly mentioned that to the innkeeper in the morning, asked if anyone ever told him that and he responded a bit defensively that the house is 270 years old "after all" and no one ever mentioned that. So...if you stay in the Meadows room you'll know that.

Breakfast was very nice. Full breakfast, something different every day, with juice, coffee, fruit, and a fresh baked item. Lots of interaction with Ira during breakfast but didn't see much of him after that.

Not sure what "concierge" service there was. Any directions Ira supplied were rushed through and we got lost. We are travelers and don't often get lost. We learned more about sights in the area and how to get there from the other guests.

This inn is in a good location, within a fair drive to Mass and NY, other quaint towns and wineries in Western Connecticut.

Our opinion was that this inn was an average bed and breakfast. The special part was the charm of the house itself.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fpk1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 96 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2011

We just spent a weekend at the Inn at Kent Falls and had a great time. The Inn is an old colonial house that's been very tastefully restored from top to bottom. It's right outside the town of Kent, CT, which is a great small town to explore. Our room was stylish...a tad small but thoughtfully furnished to provide visitors with everything you need, including books and magazines about the area.
Ira, the owner, and Barbara, the manager, are friendly, helpful and made us feel right at home! We had a delicious breakfast both days.

The Inn is a great place to get away to for a few days of exploring the small towns in lovely Northwestern CT.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the house are probably quieter, although our room was certainly quiet for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiseM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We loved staying at the Inn at the Falls, which is conveniently situated on Rt. 7, between the tiny downtown of Kent and Kent Falls. The Inn is a beautiful, 300 year old home with lots of charm. It is decorated in a comfortable, stylish way: antiques and comfy furniture are mixed together. We stayed in one of the small queen-sized rooms, The Bridges Room, which was tiny (a detail that is well-advertised when you reserve the room), but lovely and well-appointed. The bathroom was a good size and very nice. Our bed was very comfortable. The entire inn had a very cared-for, clean feel to it.

We absolutely loved breakfast each day. We are vegetarians-something easier for most to accommodate at breakfast than other meals, and were pleased to be offered almond milk with our tea and cereal. The breakfast menu varied and was delicious each day. The innkeeper, Ira, and his staff, encourage you to make yourself at home while visiting. There is a beautiful pool out back and you don't feel as if you have to rush out after breakfast, but can return to lounge in your room or around the inn if you don't have immediate plans for the day. Breakfast is served at one table, but there are options to eat in your room or on the porch. Also breakfast is offered from 8:00-10:30, which is a generous amount of time, and not always common at other B&Bs.

There is enough to do in the town for a few days; shops, several good restaurants, galleries, museums and parks. You don't have to drive too far to find a variety of other types of entertainment. Overall, The Inn at Kent Falls is a place that cares about the comfort and happiness of their guests, and does so in an idyllic setting.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size and price, The website is very accurate in describing amenities and size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harper23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Our stay at The Inn At Kent Falls was perfect in every way. The Inn is so full of charm and very comfortable and extremely clean. Ira was so helpful in advising towns and restaurants to experience. Barbara the manager was a true DELIGHT and also very helpful. The area is so lovely. We have stayed in many Inn's and this is our favorite. We will return for leaf peeping in the Fall.
Thanks for a great experience.
Judith and Greg

Room Tip: We stayed in the Meadow Room and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hibbard468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

The Inn at Kent Falls was a pleasure beyond my expectations. It's surrounded by trees and a garden with swimming pool on the outside. Inside there's a very stylish yet comfortable interior which invites you to relax. Ira, the owner and Barb, the manager provided maps, lists of restaurants, plus ideas for places to go and things to do. We went biking and antiquing. Both excursions were very enjoyable. Our stay at the Inn at Kent Falls was a total delight.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

My husband and i and our two children have stayed at the Inn at Kent Falls many times. The Inn is beautifully decorated, with gorgeous linens and toiletries, always immaculate - and the staff are all lovely. We take the kids skiing at Mohawk mountain most weekends during the winter months and it is the perfect place to stay. We are planning to spend time at the Inn this spring so that we can explore the area and take a dip in the pool! I highly recommend the Inn at Kent Falls for a great getaway (whether with the family or for a romantic weekend).

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank saffcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2010

I came here with my girlfriend and had such a good time I left with a fiance! The inn has great country charm and we enjoyed getting to know both Ira and Howie. The inn is quintessential Kent, the detail in each room gives the place great character.
We found Ira and everyone in the inn to be very warm and inviting. The night we arrived we were immediately invited to join a fun game of "name the celebrity" out on the sun porch. We were tired from a day of work and wanted to just relax and everyone was cool with us just hanging out with our wine by the fireplace. Throughout the weekend Ira shared his many years of experience in Kent with us, all the good hiking spots, craft and antique stores... he even gave me a select list of his favorite restaurants a week before we arrived to help make the weekend extra special. Breakfast was fresh made delicious pastries, fritatta, fresh OJ, great coffee and fresh fruit and granola and more.

Ira unwittingly helped me plan a weekend so special that I decided to propose at a secret little hiking spot that only the locals frequent. It was a gorgeous pond nestled in the valley and with just the two of us there it was perfect.
We have since decided to get married in Kent and with Ira's help we are setting up a beautiful wedding.
Thank you Ira and Howie for an amazing weekend and we look forward to staying with you again when we come up to get married!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rysenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kent
11.3 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
114 reviews
12.3 mi away
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn
1.1 mi away
Starbuck Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Kent Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Kent Falls

Address: 107 Kent Cornwall Road, Kent, CT 06757
Location: United States > Connecticut > Kent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kent
Price Range: $155 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AWARD-WINNING INN for all seasons in Kent, Connecticut. Our early 1900s Inn has been carefully updated to satisfy discriminating travelers of the twenty-first century. The Inn's serene setting surrounded by lush, aromatic gardens also features an outdoor pool and is convenient to all of Litchfield County's attractions including the Housatonic River, Lake Waramaug, Lime Rock, Appalachian Trail, Mohawk Mountain for skiing, plus fine restaurants, taking local Winery Tours, antiquing, gallery-hopping and, of course, enjoying our magnificent FALL FOLIAGE. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Kent Falls Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing