We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable experience!”

Fife 'n Drum Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Kent
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $28
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An enjoyable experience!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We snuck into this restaurant for an early dinner before the Kent school graduation clans arrived and we loved every minute of it. We sat in a corner table and enjoyed watching all the action with families celebrating their children's graduation. Piano music was playing including the owner sitting down to play a few tunes. Service was attentive. Tilapia was excellent. Veal stew was tasteful and unique. Desserts were plentiful and hard to choose just one!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    69
    20
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice lunch, great service”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had a very nice lunch last week at the restaurant. The service was excellent, and the food was way above average.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCandAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad food”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The food was horrible, I highly recommend skipping this restaurant. We stopped in around lunchtime for a beer and a snack. No complaints on the beer. I ordered the calamari, horrible mistake, it was the worst I've tasted in my life: It was obviously reheated -- mushy and unbelievably rubbery -- and doused in a soup-like tomato sauce to hide the sad shape it was in. My boyfriend had the Turkey melt and the bacon was burnt and resembled a piece of charcoal; he said the sandwich was the was flavorless and bland, save for the burnt flavor. Upon leaving the restaurant, we lamented leaving our beautiful campsite for this disappointment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank obotea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover Plains, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must stop”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have been going to the Fife since they have been opened and have never tired of going there! The food is always great and the service is the best! Elissa and her crew go out of their way for you and make you feel like family.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford CT
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very few left like Fife anywhere at any price”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We live over an hour away from the Fife, and used to stop whenever in the area. In recent years, we find ourselves making a special trip. The food is excellent, the service truly helpful and attentive, the decor peaceful, and Sir Dolph on the piano makes its all a delightful evening.

But there are other things we like too. Here's the short list: Because the owners are present and know that the food and service represent their name; there's no cut corners or "sorry about that."
Order a glass of house wine; you won't get a huge glass with a smidge in the bottom poured from a gallon jug, but a well filled glass of nice wine poured from a regular wine bottle. There's a good menu, but always a chalkboard of specials, and over the years we have had some memorable meals.

One snowy but crowded weekend night, we stopped in without a reservation. We were ready to leave but the owner said "Come on in, I know where I can make a spot for you." Sounds like family!

Sometimes we just feel like a couple appetizers and coffee; there's some small tables in the bar area and you get just as good attention as those ordering full meals.

Is it expensive? I guess it depends on your viewpoint. If you just need food, it is expensive. But if you go out for a wonderful evening and enjoy seeing friends in a warm and inviting atmosphere where you're treated as special, and sometimes great entertainment, then in our view, it's a bargain.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fife 'n Drum Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing