We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Warm and Friendly......”

Fife 'n Drum Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Kent
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $28
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Amityville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy, Warm and Friendly......”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Small restaurant in the heart of Kent with very good food and service. Great music on the weekends with usually Dolph the original owner on piano.....he is in his 90's and still going strong.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank deeshedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    68
    20
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amityville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy, Warm and Friendly......”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is our second year spending New Years Eve at the Fife n Drum. We had such a wonderful experience 2 yrs. ago we couldn't wait to return. We had 9:30 reservations and the festivities were all set. The menu was just right; not too many choices, but just enough to tease your pallet. The kale, lentil and onion salad was fantastic as was my main course of scallops...to die for!!!. To entertain us all evening there was a 3 piece combo that was just fabulous......the piano player Ben has magical fingers as did George on the guitar and the drummer.....they made beautiful music together.....hope they play together real soon. Champagne was flowing at midnight as we all gathered around the piano and sang in the New Year....Cannot wait to return. If you are ever in Kent, stop by and say hi to Ellisa Potts the owner....she is a sweetie.....and will make you feel right at home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deeshedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice on a rainy Sunday”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Six old friends had a very good meal on a rainy Sunday afternoon. The food was good and the service not rushed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMR48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice but a little overpriced for Thanksgiving dinner”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

It was our first time here andThanksgiving dinner was very good but a tad (well, more than a tad) overpriced at $38/person. Wonderful atmosphere with a cozy, warm dining room. The staff were very attentive and anticipated all your needs. Live piano music in the main dining room and the elderly gentleman playing the piano was very, very good, but only friendly to people he knew. My wife asked if she could help him up from his piano bench after his planned set and he gave her a dirty look and never acknowledged her request. It really bothered her.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ivyplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Local tavern with friendly service”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stopped in for some drinks after dinner, and the room was excited with live music. Service was good, and it was a good place to mingle with the locals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fife 'n Drum Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing