We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Service ”
Review of Portofino's

Portofino's
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Kensington
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed October 14, 2018 via mobile

Visiting the area from VT and had planned on going to the East Side in New Britain for dinner. But got put off by reviews complaining about the $32 dollar meals with low quality appetizers as the only ‘included ‘ choice. So we came here instead and were so glad we did.

They have a fairly traditional Italian restaurant menu but also offer chicken or veal with 8 or 9 different preparations. Meals include great bread with a garlicy olive oil and chopped scallions, and your choice of soup or salad. My chicken escarole soup was delicious and my husband’s salad was fresh and appealing. Portions are generous, we both went out with leftovers. The sauce on the pasta sides was great. Good wine list, too. Our server was professional and efficient. Ample off street parking. We get to CT occasionally and will definitely go here again.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank janecL8992CP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 98 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2018

Service was very good and very personable. Nice to be at a restaurant where the chef still comes out to meet with the diners. Nice friendly atmosphere with good food!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank scoppola2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018

A return visit to this local gem was made and once again we were very pleased with the food and the service. There are also many special priced menus depending on the night. This night was dinner for two with a bottle of wine for $50 which is a good savings.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

This Italian style restaurant is one of my favorites. It's a great restaurant for friends, family, or even a nice date night. It is a beautiful place with an impressive staff. When you arrive you are treated like family. They accommodate ALL types of food allergies. Locals love this restaurant and come back often. I recommend the week night, 5 course meal for $20.18- or something similar to that in price. You'll be full before your main course comes. That's okay because your waiter or waitress will be happy to wrap up your meal and/or dessert for you to enjoy later.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 772bethanyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

We frequent Portofino’s often as the food and service is consistently good. We were a party of five and we all had different meals. My husband had the filet mignon which he said was as good as he’s had at local steakhouses. I had my favorite, eggplant rolitini. Everyone in our party enjoyed their meals. We will return soon.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank cclanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portofino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing