We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Copper Beech Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ivoryton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
US
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really bad experience”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had made reservations weeks in advance of my 90 year old mother's stay there on Christmas eve. We informed them that she wouldn't be able to stay in the main building because all rooms are up stairs, which she couldn't navigate. So accommodations were requested in the carriage house. We got there to find the heat hadn't been turned on in the room reserved for her - it was freezing that night - and, further, didn't seem to work at all. The next few hours were a nightmare of unresponsive staff, changing to other freezing cold rooms, and nothing was finally resolved until 1:00 in the morning. This will be the last time we'll use or recommend this sub-par facility.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeeWee42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBI-owner, Manager at The Copper Beech Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I am so sorry to hear of your mother's uncomfortable stay here at the Copper Beech Inn! This is not a typical experience here and although this is a review from 2012, it is clear from reading the review carefully that your mother stayed here in 2011. Since that time, we have made repairs to the building's heating and cooling system and we have not received any complaints.

Our buildings are lovely historic structures and sometimes the mechanical systems break down, but I assure you whenever something of this nature happens, we go out of our way for our guests to the best of our capabilities. (we may sometimes have to wait until morning to reach the repair company).

thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    55
    33
    25
    17
See reviews for
25
171
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haddam, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Wow, really unfortunate - had reserved a room at a discounted rate for my 30th wedding anniversary, was told the inn would honor the rate, only to receive a call the next day saying they would not honor the rate-very disappointed in their lack of professionalism - cancelled the res of course.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynthia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBI-owner, Manager at The Copper Beech Inn, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your prompt review, we always appreciate it when our guests (or potential guests!) let us know how we can improve their experience. It is our commitment to maintain the highest degree of professionalism whenever we communicate with our guests. A warm, helpful and friendly staff is what the Copper Beech Inn has always been known for.

Unfortunately, when you attempted to book your room, there was an error on our website (that we have now corrected), and we were not able honor the rate you had quoted us. Our new desk receptionist let you know that she would get back to you because of the significant discrepancy between that particular room and the rates for the other rooms of that type. It is understandable that the room with the lower rate was particularly attractive, and had you booked with us by phone, we certainly would have offered you a discount for our error. We do hope that you will consider staying with us at some time in the future, so you can experience the value that we offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I spent a few days at Thanksgiving at Copper Beech. We had a very enjoyable three days - the room was quite unique (with a barrel ceiling) and large. The bathromm was also fairly large with a soaking tub and separate shower. The staff at the inn was most accomodating and friendly. Breakfast which came with the room was fairly typical for inns and B&Bs and was really good. If there was any complaint (minor annoyance) it was the pillows - way too soft for our liking. Overall a very enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Go to the web site - pictures and descriptions of each room are available - Comstock house is the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Stayed at the Copper Beech Inn in September. The main Inn is very romantic and has the look and feel of a Victorian mansion. My advice would be to book a room in the main Inn. Unfortunately we were booked in the carriage house, which was just a rectangle building with adequate rooms that you would find in a mid-range chain hotel. The Inn is located in a great area however, with much to see and do. Some nice New England towns in easy driving distance right on the Connecticut River. We enjoyed the breakfast that was cooked to order. I would stay again, but only in the main part of the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainL-RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed at the Copper Beech Inn on September 13, 2012. The accomadations were very nice and the staff was very attentive. My complaint is the resturant in the inn, we had heard positive comments on the food and presentation. Both my wife and I dine out quite a bit and I was looking forward to celebrating my birthday. The resturant we felt was too informal, more like eating in a travern. The appertizerand wine were fine. I ordered the duck and found it to be some what salty, but ediible. My wife ordered the salmon and it was so salty that she could not eat it. Both of us do not add salt to our food before tasting. The waitress did take off from the bill the salmon dinner. I used be in the area back in the 70's and always had an outstanding dinning experience in a formal setting. I feel the dinning room is not up to standards of the inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The rooms are large and well appointed. The restuarant is wonderful. Lovely place to get away for a anniversary, honeymoon, birthday and every other occasion you can think of. The only draw back is it's really not a place for children...

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The owners and Innkeeper were great during our stay here, always asking if they could help make our stay better. The breakfast was beyond great. We were sorry to miss it the first morning!! The Inn itself is quaint and romantic if you are looking for a something along those lines in the Connecticut river valley. We had reservations at Pip's on Tuesday evening and were seated right away at 8pm. The food was very good, steak, seafood and a pasta choice. The drinks were excellent. I had the Copper Beech Cosmo and LOVED it. The atmosphere very intimate.

The location/area itself is a little sleepy for us, but we love to get in the car and drive on the country roads to explore the area. Old Mystic is probably one of the only real noteworthy areas to visit and we also headed out to Newport a couple times, which is about 75 miles away.

They could improve the TVs. We were in the carriage house and there was a very small tube TV in our room in the armoire. A few updates here and there in the Carriage house and it would be top notch!

Would definitely recommend this Inn for romantic getaway weekends and quiet/relaxing vacations. Plan a couple of driving day trips to Mystic and Newport and you'll have a great vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherriB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ivoryton
6.1 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
708 reviews
10.5 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
20.5 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,602 reviews
4.6 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Copper Beech Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Copper Beech Inn

Property: The Copper Beech Inn
Address: 46 Main St, Ivoryton, CT 06442-1004
Location: United States > Connecticut > Ivoryton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ivoryton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Copper Beech Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Beech Inn portrays subtle and refined elegance in traditional New England style. The intimate country hotel is situated in the hamlet of Ivoryton, Connecticut, one of three small villages within the historic town of Essex on the Connecticut River.Rediscover the art of relaxation and experience luxurious comfort in one of the inn's 22 guest rooms and suites in the Main House, the Carriage House or the most recent addition, the Comstock House. Period antiques, oriental rugs, and richly textured fabrics and upholstery are abundant, combined with thoughtful amenities.The quaint villages of the Lower Connecticut River Valley are just minutes away, each one evoking the essence of the New England village of long ago. The history and culture, the pristine Connecticut River, the seaside landscape of Long Island Sound and the abundance of recreational opportunities are endless in this very special area of the Connecticut River Valley, all just a two-hour drive from New York or Boston.Begin with the discovery of the riverside village of Essex, with boutiques, art galleries, antique shops and the Connecticut River Museum. Just a few miles up the river is the picture perfect town of Chester, offering the visitor art galleries, gift shops, unique clothing stores, and antique shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Copper Beech Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Beech Hotel Ivoryton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing