We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our 2nd honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Copper Beech Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ivoryton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

On August 5 and 6th my husband and I stayed at the inn. Upon arrival we were greeted by the lovely young innkeeper named Abby. She promptly showed us to our room which beautiful! We were treated to a delicious cheese and cracker tray. The grounds were majestic and colorful with all of the wildflowers blooming. We enjoyed breakfast in the morning and Abby was always there with her delightful smile ready to help with any questions. The Inn is truly a New England treasure.

Deanna M. DeMaio

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deanna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 267 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

Having planned a special birthday getaway for my husband, I was very disappointed, The setting is beautiful and we love this part of the CT River valley. We tried not to "sweat the small stuff" but it was difficult. So many little things went wrong. Management tried to compensate but the Inn and restaurant experience were disappointing. We will return to the area but chose different accomodations.

Room Tip: We had a standard room in the Carriage House which was small but with pretty decor and needing a new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rulade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Copper Beech Inn is a beautiful and very quiet getaway. If you are looking for a quiet place to hide away, this is it. But if you want to explore and have some options of things to do-- this might be too quiet. My husband and I did a "mystery auction" at luxury link and ended up here, and though romantic and tranquil, we were a bit bored. Add to that some very small things that were a bit annoying-- no coffee, broken hairdryer, broken cable, and I'm not sure we would come back. The property is pretty (although no pool, no spa, no transportation or ability to walk to anything) and the people were very nice, but I think they could do better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a fantastic 3 nights at the inn. The room was great and very nicely appointed. There were a few spots in the room and the bathroom where wallpaper was peeling or a seam was pulling back, but nothing out of the ordinary from other inns and certainly not a distraction. The staff -- particularly Megan and Stephanie -- go out of their way to serve and are always looking for ways to be helpful. I had purchased a package and due to changes in the restaurant, I was not able to use credit toward dinner. Rather than hassle me, they immediately suggested they return the credit to my account as a reduction in price. I wish every innkeeper would treat their guests this courteously!

Breakfasts were fantastic on their deck overlooking well-tended landscape. The only real negative was that, as mentioned earlier, we could not take advantage of their fantastic restaurant for dinner. Their former chef left to start his own restaurant and the chef to replace him is just starting up in a weekend or two. Once that's finalized, I suspect a stay at CBI would be near perfection!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyLScam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I were celebrating 15 years of marriage.My husband wouldve preferred staying home and celebrating here (hes a certified homebody) but our daughter was away with her grandmother and we were literally going on a romantic weekend alone for the first time in 15 years .I'd done my reserch and after settling on Mystic Ct. and Griswald Inn as places to visit,I looked for the perfect romatic room, I read all the great reviews for CBI. I secured the suite in the carriage house out back , it was shabby ... not shabby chic either.Water stains on the ceiling and the hot tub was gross.water stains all over the bathroom. I concur with the other guest that complained as I had the same experience .This all couldve been corrected with some new comforters, a rug cleaning ,some platters for the "fruit & cheese" (literally some grapes,cheese slices and a few berries I believe I had the same ugly used cutting board as another guest ) and a gallon of paint. They certainly charge enough for the stay and food. I wanted to call the front desk immediately upon opening our doors but my husband begged me to let it go. I'm "picky" he says but we dont go away all the time and I pay good money for a great time not a mediocre experience, he says I complain too much. The four poster bed in our room was beautiful but the 2 couches looked older than my 38 yr old husband.Thank God I brought towels as there were 2 very small towels we had to put on the floor as the hot tub leaked.I asked for more towels and was told they were " all out " at the time .I purchased a package that included dinner & breakfast. We went in Thursday evening for dinner (I had a reservation for) and was told there was a 30 min wait. We left and got a pizza craving the steak that smelled amazing. Breakfast was great but that was the only thing I can say complimentary about Copper Beech Inn. The morning coffee and tea was in the hallway and in filthy looking little coffee pots.. I did call the following night as I didnt want a repeat of the dinner fiaso again. We picked it up to eat in our room. The food is amazing.I recommend dining at the CBI but do not be fooled by the pictures of this B&B. Unless they've had a complete overhaul the pics are decades old.Stay at the Griswald Inn at least they let you know its "dated".Save your $ I also emailed the manager and never recieved a response, that right there should tell you how much you mean to this establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shanne422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My stay at Copper Beech last weekend was absolutely wonderful! The room was more like a suite, spacious and beautifully appointed. The touches and details were incredible. I went with my best friends and we had a wonderful time visiting Essex and Old Mystic. But the Copper Beech definitely had both of us wishing we had brought or significant others because the place was so romantic. We also had a 7 course tasting at their restaurant and it was probably one of the best meals I've had. The breakfast was pretty good as well. They treated us like royalty the whole time and the place was so intimate that even though we saw other people we felt like we were there by ourselves. Thank you Copper Beech for a great weekend!

I think the only reason this place doesn’t get more reviews is because people are trying to keep this place a secret, which I don’t blame them.

Room Tip: Comstock is the newest building. But the other buildings have old charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Splendid_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Wanted a romantic getaway for my boyfriend's birthday and the Copper Beech delivered! We stayed in Room 323 of the Comstock House (the newest building), which was absolutely gorgeous... Was able to get a special package through Living Social....Breakfast--Eggs Benedict for him and lemon ricotta hotcakes for me was yummy! Pips wasn't open on a Sunday evening in the season yet, so we opted for the River Tavern in Chester... great as well!

Room Tip: Highly recommend the Comstock House...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seafairer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ivoryton
6.1 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
750 reviews
10.5 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
20.5 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,862 reviews
4.6 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Copper Beech Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Copper Beech Inn

Address: 46 Main St, Ivoryton, CT 06442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Ivoryton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ivoryton
Price Range: $203 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Copper Beech Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Beech Inn portrays subtle and refined elegance in traditional New England style. The intimate country hotel is situated in the hamlet of Ivoryton, Connecticut, one of three small villages within the historic town of Essex on the Connecticut River.Rediscover the art of relaxation and experience luxurious comfort in one of the inn's 22 guest rooms and suites in the Main House, the Carriage House or the most recent addition, the Comstock House. Period antiques, oriental rugs, and richly textured fabrics and upholstery are abundant, combined with thoughtful amenities.The quaint villages of the Lower Connecticut River Valley are just minutes away, each one evoking the essence of the New England village of long ago. The history and culture, the pristine Connecticut River, the seaside landscape of Long Island Sound and the abundance of recreational opportunities are endless in this very special area of the Connecticut River Valley, all just a two-hour drive from New York or Boston.Begin with the discovery of the riverside village of Essex, with boutiques, art galleries, antique shops and the Connecticut River Museum. Just a few miles up the river is the picture perfect town of Chester, offering the visitor art galleries, gift shops, unique clothing stores, and antique shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Copper Beech Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Beech Hotel Ivoryton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing