We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stellar Experience--Nothing Like the Negative Reviews I'd Read”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Copper Beech Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Ivoryton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Copper Beech Inn for the first two nights of our honeymoon, in June 2007. We had the Copper Beech Suite both nights, and found it to be beautifully decorated, clean and in good repair. (The only problem we had with the room was a loose towel rack that later fell off the wall--and frankly, this didn't bother us.)

Service was wonderful--the innkeepers were able to accomodate our not-the-way-we-planned-it late-evening arrival and even helped us up to the room with our bags.

We had dinner one night in the Brasserie Pip, which was absolutely delicious. Full breakfast both mornings on the porch overlooking the garden (included in room price)--we can't wait to go back.

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank CTYankee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 280 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2007

This inn is in a small town close to Essex and Chester. We stayed for one night (hard to do on a holiday weekend, but we asked nicely...) and had a lovely experience. We stayed in room 104, a very private, newly renovated room on the second floor of the main house. Last year we stayed in the Copper Beech Suite, which is great too, but there was something very romantic and elegant about 104. I do not know anything about the 8 or 9 rooms housed in a separate annex behind the main building. Everything in the room works, the room was immaculately clean, and the breakfast is wonderful. For dining, you have the choice of the rather stuffy hotel dining room (split up into several rooms so you tend to have the feeling, no matter where you sit, that you're in a side room) or the Brasserie Pip, an informal bistro (where breakfasts are served). The Brasserie has a very nice bar. We ate at the restaurant in August 06 and enjoyed it, but this time went out to the restaurant du Village in Chester which is stunningly good. This is a great, really lovely inn, we recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MysticCTMysticmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

I stayed here during the first few days of July. I must say that I have some mixed feelings about this place. It's part of a select registry of inns across the country and I've always heard of its excellent reputation.
Let's just say that I think for a place of its caliber, a greater attention to detail is needed. I specifically looked for a room that had a semi-private terrace, and the rooms in the carriage house where I booked definitely do have them. I was looking forward to sitting out there but it looked as if it had been months since anyone swept the deck. The outdoor furniture was dirty and the cobwebs were plentiful. Instead, I was able to find a very nice place to sit in the main garden closer to the main house (but not private)

My room #114 was definitely in need of renovation. The carpet was stained and a bit worn. The wallpaper had some tears and the bathroom...well....the advertising for this place says that they have marble bathrooms. Mine was not even tiled. It had decorative wall board to make it look like tile and it was coming off the wall in spots.

I looked in at one of the other rooms and found it to be in better shape. Ask questions before you book.

The restaurant is top-notch. I had a great dinner there and the breakfast that comes with the room is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kenbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for our anniversary. The carriage house is truly in need of a makeover. We had room 217, which did not resemble the photo on the website. The deck faced what looked like a bomb shelter. There were bugs in the hallway. The restaurant was small, overpriced and pretentious. How it won the "Best of Connecticut" is unclear.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Best1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2007

We decided to spent a week-end at The Copper Beech Inn, celebrating our anniversary. First impression we got was that the place needed serious makeover. The Copper Beech Inn has nothing in common with that pretty image they advertise on-line. There is no air conditioning in the rooms. And don't try to open windows! There are no screens!!!
The average age of guests is 60-65 years old. The staff (including innkeeper )was not friendly at all. There was no warm "welcome". None would show us a round. They didn't even bother to acknowledge us of a complementary breakfast, what time it is served and where, etc.
It could be a nice place if you are looking for a quiet week-end. But it is absolutely overrated and overpriced ($ over 800 for 2 nights !!!).
Iwould not recommend it for couples looking for romantic get away.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank olga240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2006

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated to great service, hospitality and food.

During our short stay we enjoyed meeting all the well trained staff and especially our conversations with the Innkeeper, Michael, who could not have been more attentive. The Inn has an English feel with beautiful antiques and tasteful decor. We dined in both restaurants. They are popular with the locals, especially the Pip Brasserie which was full even on a Sunday night.

We will definitely return and can recommend it to any discerning traveller. As hoteliers ourselves, we feel The Copper Beach Inn is a credit to the industry and well deserving of its current accolades.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Goldenkeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2006

I found the Copper Beech Inn by looking through Registry of Distinguished Inns of North America. I have stayed at several of the Inns listed in this book and many Inns besides. When traveling without our children, my husband and myself love to stay at B&B's or Inns. The Copper Beech Inn by far was our worse experience ever. This was our tenth wedding anniversary weekend and we thought we would give the state of Connecticut and the Copper Beech Inn a try, since it was also driving distance to many other attractions, one being Mystic. Upon our arrival we checked into our room, number 111. We were staying in the carriage house. Upon entering as we walked closer to our room we noticed a strong odor. The inkeeper showed us the room. After he left we looked around and noticed all the mold covering and coming out of the heating vents. It was one of those big wall units. Above the unit on the wall it was all green covered with mold. It was so disgusting and that is what smelled. We left to tell the inkeeper that we could not stay in that room, it was a health hazard to inhale that and they should not even be renting that room out. He tried to say they had alot of rain the week before, but this was something that was growing in the walls. He finally went to look at it himself and said he put his thumb through the wall and it was wet. He gave us another room and said he would try and "stick the couple coming in the next day" in room 111 and give us room 110!!!! While room 110 had no mold, it was not worth $305. It had filthy carpeting, a dirty, stained loveseat, all the furnishings were cheap, and just thrown together. It was a far cry from a nice country inn. Later that evening he told us there was nothing else he could do, either we could move back to the mold room or we could leave, which we had planned to do. He said he could not take the room apart over the weekend, they would clean it. The next morning the smell of bleach coming from room 111 was unbelieveable and one of the repair men was coming out with a can of paint. They apparently just cleaned and painted over the mold. Once again we said what a health hazard it was to have people breathing in mold. He just did not care. He just did not want any of the other guests to know what was going on. We have stayed in Inns all over New England that were beautiful, detailed, and this was such a far cry from anything or anyplace we have ever seen. When staying at an Inn, always try and make sure the owners are on the premises. I still have yet to figure out how this place made it into the Registry of Distinguished Inns od North America.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank ang64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ivoryton
6.1 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
773 reviews
10.5 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.6 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Griswold Inn
Griswold Inn
#1 of 1 in Essex
347 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bee and Thistle Inn and Lounge
4.5 mi away
Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Copper Beech Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Copper Beech Inn

Address: 46 Main St, Ivoryton, CT 06442-1004
Location: United States > Connecticut > Ivoryton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ivoryton
Price Range: $201 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Copper Beech Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Beech Inn portrays subtle and refined elegance in traditional New England style. The intimate country hotel is situated in the hamlet of Ivoryton, Connecticut, one of three small villages within the historic town of Essex on the Connecticut River.Rediscover the art of relaxation and experience luxurious comfort in one of the inn's 22 guest rooms and suites in the Main House, the Carriage House or the most recent addition, the Comstock House. Period antiques, oriental rugs, and richly textured fabrics and upholstery are abundant, combined with thoughtful amenities.The quaint villages of the Lower Connecticut River Valley are just minutes away, each one evoking the essence of the New England village of long ago. The history and culture, the pristine Connecticut River, the seaside landscape of Long Island Sound and the abundance of recreational opportunities are endless in this very special area of the Connecticut River Valley, all just a two-hour drive from New York or Boston.Begin with the discovery of the riverside village of Essex, with boutiques, art galleries, antique shops and the Connecticut River Museum. Just a few miles up the river is the picture perfect town of Chester, offering the visitor art galleries, gift shops, unique clothing stores, and antique shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Copper Beech Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Beech Hotel Ivoryton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing