We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best First Date place”
Review of Firebox Restaurant

Firebox Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Firebox Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 439 Restaurants in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Capitol Avenue
Transit: Adjacent to city transportation routes, and within blocks of the train station.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best First Date place”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The menu and wait staff are great. It's a different place than the usual West Hartford scene. Just go its great :))

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    95
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“awesome dining experience”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We had an early dinner here before a concert at the XL Center and we were very impressed with the entire expedience. First, we arrived a bit early and the staff was incredibly helpful at getting us seated a bit earlier than our reservation. The food was incredible! We share the mussels prepared with shaved fennel, chickpeas, piquillo peppers topped with a curry yogurt sauce. The flavors melded together wonderfully. Then there was the texture variations between the mussels, the chickpeas and the fennel and peppers. I had the duck cassoulet which surprised me as it was a "deconstructed" cassoulet. The duck was cooked to perfection; with white bean puree, white beans and bacon and fired kale (an unexpected but lovely touch). My husband had the pork chop with pomegranate-jalapeno chutney. Love the sweet and hot juxtaposition! Can't say enough about the wait staff. They were incredibly attentive without being intrusive; very knowledgable about the menu as week. This was a completely perfect dining experience. Cannot wait to go back and try some other menu choices. You will not be disappointed!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctsailor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griswold, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Fav”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Thought we would try this restaurant after a concert at the Bushnell. The front room was a bit loud, but we were happy to find a quieter room in the back, and had the most wonderful meal ever. The cheese plate and the pates were awesome. My husband had the best duck ever, like filet Mignon, tender and tasty. The food and service was exquisite. We enjoyed everything from the apps and wine to the desserts. The design of the restaurant is fresh and modern. Our new favorite - i cannot wait to go again - soon!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvpink2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is the whole package,”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I dine out in the Hartford area fairly often and this is by far our favorite restaurant. The atmosphere is very nice but still comfortable. The food is wonderful. Very fresh and interesting. Excellent waitstaff as well. We highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere & Great Food”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Firebox is cool! Had lunch here and couldn't decide which room to choose. The brick building has rustic charm, the staff was so friendly and they really go all out making delicious but healthy options to choose from. The butternut squash risotto was made with barley! Great place for couples or groups. Wish I lived closer to check out the live music. Don't miss it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ecogirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firebox Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Firebox Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing