We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The food is well prepared, service is fine and the price is reasonable”
Review of O'Porto Restaurant - CLOSED

O'Porto Restaurant
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
W. Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
310 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“The food is well prepared, service is fine and the price is reasonable”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The menu includes Portugese food and american food. All of it is well prepared and tastes great. Mediterranean food is very healthy and you can feel good eating here. You will find several dishes featuring fish and shellfish. We found the service to be very good and the prices are reasonable. They usually have Ten Penny Ale on tap, a beer craft brewed in East Hartford. Unforturnately, they were out of it on this visit, so we tried some Portugese wine and found it excellent.in taste and price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cayman408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    20
    13
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ct
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

The pia is the best, have had all of them and favorites were not the most expensive. everything from cocktails to deserts, coffees.. Yummy. One of our top 10 in CT.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We did a web search for a restaurant to go that we never visited before. After looking at several web pages, basing our decision on the web menu we decided to try out O'Porta. Before we started our journey to dine out we called and asked for the exact location, even though we had the address. I am a little familiar with Park Street but, I also know Park Street turn into Park Rd (location of restaurant). The person that answered the phone explained the exact location. I'm thankful we called because we passed it. If it is your first time as it was ours you might not see the sign its a little tucked back on the building. As we walked in it was obvious we choose well. We were greeted immediately, the place looked clean, staff uniforms were in order, and atmosphere was nice. Again our decision was based totally on the web, and the web menu. The menu options were even better in the establishment considering not all option are listed. Food presentation and flavor excellent. Staff helpful, friendly, and gracefully answered any questions about menu. Great place to go for families, couples, or friends having a dinner. May not be a place if your looking for a more intimate dinner ( tables are close ). On a side note we went to celebrate our anniversary and enjoyed ourselves. Parking spaces are limited in the parking lot considering its a shared lot. So if you go during a busy streak you may have to park on the street. Over all I have nothing negative to say about O'Porta! I would absolutely return again. Thank You for a great meal, and a place my wife was excited to be at on our anniversary.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rrobert349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a bargain”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We came for taste of hartford 2012 and it was fabulous. appetizers of flaming chorizo and spring rolls stuffed with seafood. I had the boneless succulent chicken and the others had tilapia and sirloin steak. Great service and atmosphre. Runs through next week.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronpariser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
363 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

It was restaurant week in Hartford and my fiance and I wanted to try a new place in Hartford. WE came across O Porto on the list of participants and decided to try it out. The ambiance of the interior was perfect. For dinner we tried the tasting menu for the week and we did not make any wrong choices. Everything was great from the appetizers until the desserts. Heck and for ~ $20 for each person we could not go wrong. We would highly highly recommend this place for anyone who is looking for a great menu and a nice night out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trvlchic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Porto Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing