We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting”
Review of Super 8 Hartford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Hartford
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hartford
Reviewed October 11, 2008

I absolutely agree with the review just below mine. I stayed in numerous Super 8's before and usually rate them with 3 stars, but not this one. First the room was disgusting: Very smelly (I almost vomit), lights were not working, cigarette burns on the bed sheets and the room had a "dirty like" feeling.Second location was scary. Even though close to the highway and the downtown area, it feels unsafe. Prostitution is also available...Third (and this proves the second point) the hotel lobby has a bullet glass window, a security guard, and a huge screen were it monitors different areas around or inside the motel.

In summary, the place is scary and risky for your safety.To my opinion, it is likely that you can wake up in the morning and your car is gone. Think about it.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grevo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 252 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2008

Location is good in the sense motel is right off the highway. But that's about as good as it gets. We checked in late, and it didn't feel like a safe area. It didn't feel clean. We didn't use shower-saved that for the next hotel we stayed in. The beds didn't feel clean. If it wasn't past the 6 p.m. cancellation time when we checked in, we wouldn't have stayed here. We would have spent a few more bucks and stayed elsewhere. We wouldn't recommend staying this motel.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lauralee68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2007

After booking a reservation through Orbitz and checking in Saturday night, I was called by the front desk after midnight and told that my reservation had been canceled by a 'central reservation system' and that I would have to create a new reservation at a higher rate and provide a new credit card, or be thrown out in 5 minutes. Under pressure I agreed to create a new reservation. However, after calling Orbitz and my credit card company and discovering that my original reservation had not been canceled in any way I decided to pack up and leave. The hotel refused to refund my new walkin reservation claiming that it was impossible. I have been calling Orbitz to get my reservation refunded, but they refuse to do so until they talk to a manager at the Super 8, and their seems to be no management available this entire day.

In addition to the fact that I feel scammed, I would also add that the plexiglass in front of the checkin desk is still there, the lobby still looks like it's being renovated (I see that a reviewer back in March was saying the exact same things) and there is no information about the hotel, phone books, or any other advertised amenity like a hair dryer in the rooms. It's in a terrible location too, so there's really nothing to recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Marbhna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2006

This hotel serves one purpose: a place to sleep if there's a concert at the Meadows. It's a budget hotel so you certainly get what you pay for: scarce furnishings, dark rooms, noisy neighbors, and stiff towels. The staff was very friendly and it was very clean. Serves its purpose well if you don't have high expectations!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Writer312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2006

I personally hate Hartford but always end up going there for something, usually a concert at the Meadows Music Theater (or whatever its called now). The service at Super 8 was decent, the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. There were no bath towels in the bathroom but the maids helped us out with that. Its a budget motel and you get what you pay for. I've stayed at a few other places in Hartford that were just overpriced for that city. Between the location and the priceof the Super 8, I was satisfied.

2  Thank sunshine41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
White Plains, NY
19
Reviewed March 7, 2005

Rooms are clean, service is friendly, but the hotel is located near the highway in a very unpleasant area.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank yamariem2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalpesh P, Manager at Super 8 Hartford, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
3.5 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
1.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 12 in Hartford
1,151 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#6 of 12 in Hartford
480 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hartford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hartford

Address: 57 W Service Rd, I-91 exit 33, Hartford, CT 06120-1533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hartford
Price Range: $62 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hartford 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within 5 minutes of downtown Hartford, CT. All rates include Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Free WI-FI Internet, Free Parking (Buses, RVs, & Trucks Welcome). Walking distance to CT EXPO Center, Dodge Music Center, and HARTFORD MEADOWS. Call Now to Book Rooms-!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Hartford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hartford / Windsor Hotel Hartford
Super Eight Hartford
Hartford Super Eight
Hartford Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing