We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, not so nice neighborhood”
Review of Super 8 Hartford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Hartford
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hartford
Helsinki
2 reviews
“Nice hotel, not so nice neighborhood”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Nothing wrong with the hotel if you're traveling by car. We didn't have one, so we needed a taxi to move around. There are no services (stores or restaurants) within walking distance. Room was clean and nice, breakfast was ok. Front desk service was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    53
    45
    85
See reviews for
49
44
31
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanic Falls, Maine
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here twice on a long weekend trip from Maine to West Virginia. The first evening we were arriving very late (1AM) mid-week and had no problem with check-in, and noted the room was extremely quiet and clean. Front desk service was good, both on the telephone and in person, but it was difficult to hear the clerk due to the security glass and loud ice machine in the lobby/kitchen area.

The hotel is in a very convienent location, just a few minutes off of I84, one exit north on I91. Easy on, easy off. The neighborhood is primarily businesses (car dealers) and is not as bad as I expected being very close to Hartford center. The property is fully fenced and has excellent lighting and parking.

On the trip back we stayed on a Sunday evening. Service was equally good, and the room was again clean and comfortable with good hot showers. I was pleased the older TV had ESPN2, so I could watch a specific auto racing event that evening over ordered in dinner from a local italian restaurant.

This Super 8 did have a few minor issues, one of the light fixtures had a missing bulb, one had a loose switch, and on the second night the tub drain grate was unattached and loose. I mention these because they could be safety issues if travelling with children. The staff did make note of these issues for maintenence. The ice machine was also loud, both in the lobby and also in our room (adjoining wall) on the second night. There is a lobby computer for internet access, as well as free Wifi (we did not use the wifi) but connection can be spotty due to weather as they have satellite link.

If you are a business traveller or couple needing a clean, safe room for a very reasonable price this Super 8 should top your list.

Room Tip: Avoid room 136, it is on a common wall with the lobby and loud ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAFCRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canusa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

stayed here in May for a concert
location is great for the comcast theater (walking distance)
they actually rent out part of their parking lot for concert goers!
When we got there there were tailgate parties going on.
im assuming that some of the rooms were for concert goers like us.
lots of young people with booze all over the hotel and parking lot.
Not overly rowdy but if I werent staying here because of the concert I would have probably gone to another hotel.
Our NON smoking room must have been changed to that status that day and we were most likely the first ones in it because it definitely was a smoking room.
It smelled awful but figuring with everything going on changing rooms it was not a good option as we were close to leave for concert.
room was ok but thats it. would stay again if coming back for a concert but thats it.
also bkfast is from 6:30 to 9am
dont show up at 9:01 because everything is taken away immediately at 9am. I missed by 5 minutes and everything was put away!!!

Room Tip: easy distance from Comcast theater
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The phone call to make reservation was very Professional and kind. I arrived late in the evening not expecting what to find, the price was perfect for my budget, and i was startled at the 4" bullet proof glass between me and the front desk staff. The front desk was a very nice experience, had a smile and explained ''Nothing has happened here and the glass is a just precaution''. Location was perfect! RT 95 was is 200-400 feet away and did not hear any traffic in the room, air worked fine and breakfast selection was small, anyway the hallways were clean as well as the rooms, beds were comfortable and smelling fresh,Remote & TV was older but worked fine, rooms were clean and comfortable. Bathroom was small but worked for me, clean and towels were fresh. nothing but good things to say about this Super 8.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesD881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, California
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

we are very happy staying at this hotel. nice service, excellent staff. The room was very neat and clean. The service is excellent. Good shower hot water. Free breakfast and coffee. Flowers in room. warm welcome . The room was very well kept. Clean towels. Will stay again if have to go

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank vrajesh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
1.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
3.5 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
1.3 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 11 in Hartford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hartford Downtown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Hartford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hartford

Property: Super 8 Hartford
Address: 57 W Service Rd, I-91 exit 33, Hartford, CT 06120-1533
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hartford 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within 5 minutes of downtown Hartford, CT. All rates include Complimentary Continental Breakfast, Free WI-FI Internet, Free Parking (Buses, RVs, & Trucks Welcome). Walking distance to CT EXPO Center, Dodge Music Center, and HARTFORD MEADOWS. Call Now to Book Rooms-!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Hartford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hartford / Windsor Hotel Hartford
Super Eight Hartford
Hartford Super Eight
Hartford Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing