We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly What It is...A True Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Hartford/Closest Downtown
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hartford
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Exactly What It is...A True Budget Hotel”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Well....um...it is...um...exactly what you pay for. This is the first hotel we have ever stayed at that has a reception desk surrounded by bullet proof glass. We were "upgraded" to a suite (just a larger room with a table and chairs) by the front desk person. We asked if there were any renovated rooms but were told "No" by the front desk even though there are signs everywhere that read "Please pardon our appearance, renovations underway"... there seem to be no renovations underway.
The carpets and walls in the room were dirty and the smell of marijuana drifted through the air all night and into the morning. We kept the sheets tightly on as the mattress cover was littered with hairs and was dirty.
If you are looking for an inexpensive night in the area then you will not be disappointed as the rates are around $40 a night. If you are a college student, young wandering couple or are not overly concerned about cleanliness than this is the place for you.
If you are a family traveling with young children as we are whose kids were on the carpet a lot I would say avoid this place. Luckily, we brought our own port a cribs.
We spent one night, did not stay for the complimentary breakfast and will not return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krugsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    45
    47
    35
    48
See reviews for
55
45
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Webster, New York
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I was a little concerned after reading some of the reviews but I took a chance anyway. It is a bit hard to see but GPS found the place fine. The lobby was fine in appearance but the "glass vault" where the clerk sits does put off a "vibe" suggesting it may not be the safest place to stay. The room was fine, nothing fancy but clean enough and big enough. There is a small fridge and microwave. The mattress was VERY firm. The WIFI worked great and the TV was OK. Breakfast was OK. The hallways are smokey and in need of painting or wallpapering. The elevator works but it needs some maintenance or refitting. The staff was very nice but I probably won't stay here again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank AFCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The accomadations were fine. The price was okay.
The location was very difficult to get to.
Your sign is well hidden by trees on apparantly a dead end street, after locating the area we drove to the right instaed of left because your sign is not visible .
You may be okay when the leaves are gone , but remembewr they come back with more leaves tthan last year.
The city needs to pay attention to your request for more visibility..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RENSSELAER
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The room I stayed in was very pleasant although the bathroom wasn't in the best condition, and that coffee maker was very dirty and nasty. I couldn't possibly use it, there was discoloration in the water reservior, it was disqusting. Also there could've been more soap in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank MARJORIE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
2.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
2.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 12 in Hartford
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge - East Hartford
Econo Lodge - East Hartford
#4 of 5 in East Hartford
55 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 12 in Hartford
1,087 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Hartford/Closest Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Hartford/Closest Downtown

Property: Days Inn Hartford/Closest Downtown
Address: 207 Brainard Rd, Hartford, CT 06114-2102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Hartford/Closest Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Hartford/Closest Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Hartford Hotel Hartford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing