We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beer selection, but too salty”
Review of The Half Door

The Half Door
Ranked #23 of 436 Restaurants in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice beer selection, but too salty”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I love going to the Half Door for their game nights, or just for drinks. There's a nice little patio for smokers. My problem is the one time I ordered food, the fish and chips, it was way way too salty. The side order of fries does come with some sort of curry sauce which is good.

Go for beers, careful with the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    33
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Takes "bar food" to the next level!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Picked this place as a central point for meeting Boston and NYC friends and it was a great choice. They have an awesome selection of beer but what really sold me was their amazing food. How many bars do you know with a good drink list AND an amazing menu? I had the chicken pot pie and it was to die for. I had a little bit from my other four friends meals and they were also amazing. I will definitely be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stopped in for a quick app. Really good food! We had the veggie chili & rueben spring rolls. really nice waitress. HUGE beer selection. Wish i had more time to try them all :) Location is the only problem, kinda scary neighborhood & very little parking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mason405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This place brings a smile to my face always.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I live in the Hartford area and this is my absolute favorite bar. The drinks are reasonably priced. The food is awesome. The Bands that play here are great and the service is relaxed and friendly. No complaints to date.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jkaycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, mi
Level Contributor
1,149 reviews
787 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
“What an Irish Pub Should be”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Good hearty food and many Irish beers to select from.

I ate here for lunch on a Thursday afternoon and it wasn't busy at all, yet the food and service was good.

The interior is a bit dark with tall wooden booths at the far end away from the bar and along the front wall by the windows. The wooden booths are a bit tricky getting into because they are narrow along the aisle (maybe they'll help keep you in your seat if you drink too much). The decor is the typical Irish pub style... lots of old Irish proverbs and old Guiness posters.

I'd recommend this place if you want the experience of a "real" Irish Pub.

A word of caution... the neighborhood in this area is a little scary. Don't park a nice car in this area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flintjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Half Door also viewed

 

Been to The Half Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing