We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mozzicato DePasquale Bakery and Pastry Shop
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Hartford
Restaurant details
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yummy...”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is the best Italian bakery shop in town! All of their pastries are delicious but I must admit that I normally go in there to order broccoli pizza. Their dough, cheese everything is so fresh you can taste the difference compared to ordering from a pizza shop.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RozieCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    5
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prospect CT
Level Contributor
170 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A little Piece Of Italy”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Whether you have a craving for some Italian cookies or a cannoli, this is the place to stop. You don't have to go to Little italy to experience good quality.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't beat the Cannoli's”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Best Italian Pastry shop in town! We live in the suburbs, but head in to Hartford just to pick up some pastries. We stop into their coffee shop after local events

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Plainville location really handy!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We go to the Mozzicato's in Plainville which is a really great location. Their ricotta gelato is so good and the price is reasonable. We also enjoy getting their layered fruit cakes for birthdays, however we have had it a few times where it has been quite dry. They have a unbelievable selection of Italian pastry. Don't go to this place when you're trying to diet!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripLady1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
394 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Great Italian confections in the old-fashioned way”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

It you were lucky enough to have a real immigrant Italian grandmother, or a best friend who had an old-time Italian grandma, you may have eaten this well in the US before. For the rest of us, though, we had to go to Mozzicato.

The window is awash is wedding cakes, one more decadent than the other, And the cakes are exceptional. I ordered a largish one, chocolate chocolate-mousse) thinking that it would feed thirty people. It did, but we still had half the cake! Four layers, rich in butter and real whipped cream. Yes, it cost $60, but it was worth far more. Heck, Costo cakes are half as much and can't even be mentioned in the same breath.

But it is far more than cake. Like cookies? Oh my, do they have cookies. And gelato and ices and sorbetto. Cannoli, too. You name an Italian sweet and they either have it there or will make it for you to order. This is not the most exciting Little Italy in the US, but the final outposts of classic Italian immigrant food still proudly stand and serve us all. It is a minute or two off the Brainerd Road exit on I-91, minutes from the center of Hartford. Well worth the detour. As good as you will find in Boston and NY, and almost up there with this place in Rome... well, it is the best this side of that.

Mangia.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank withkidstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mozzicato DePasquale Bakery and Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Mozzicato DePasquale Bakery and Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing