We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Convenient location and helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hartford
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Convenient location and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this property and found the staff to be extremely helpful. A special thank you to Tabitha and Vanessa especially. The hotel is near the XL Center and Union Station. Both are in walking distance. The breakfast each morning was well stocked with a variety of choices. They offer dinner Mon-Thur evenings which was an added bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel can be noisy due to the local bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieTEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    109
    64
    45
    36
See reviews for
87
57
25
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Hotel and room seemed brand new but i know it isn't because my son and his Dad stayed there two years ago! Front desk staff were extremely nice and courteous. Room was spacious. I liked the extra security of needing a key to enter the corridor when you get off the elevator. Breakfast in the morning was fresh and good. There was some confusion as to which parking lot to use. The lot across the street stated that they welcome Hilton guests. I paid at a kiosk but an attendant said i should have paid him. And then he said I should have parked in the lot behind the hotel altogether. I left my car where it was and it ended up working out okay but the confusion made me a little uncomfortable. It was altogether a great place to stay and i would definitely stay there again if I ever need to be in Hartford.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Room was nice and clean. Staff was kind and helpful. Free breakfast was tasty. What more can you ask for! It was also nice to be close to things downtown. There is a great restaurant immediately next door called Black Eyed Sallys that has killer ribs so if you need a bite to eat in a pinch you don't have to go far.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Room was spacious and had everything we needed, especially loved the kitchen. We had four people on our room but felt like we had all the space in the world. It was nice to be able to have our own bedroom and television. The bed was very comfortable and clean. The entire hotel was also clean and very secure. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. This hotel is in a great location because it is near the greatest bars and restaurants in Hartford or anywhere else you may be visiting. Most importantly the hotel offers convenient, private, and safe parking. Although we did not bring our dogs it was nice to know that there is a pet friendly hotel in downtown Hartford. If you’re looking for a room to stay in where you don’t have to worry about being away from home I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casco, Maine
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

So, we had never been to Hartford before! Very different from back home. Felt very comfortable during the day, but the nightlife after 9 pm is wild compared to where we live! So we went back to hotel. The hotel was very nice! It was VERY clean. Loved having the kitchenette. So spacious. We had a room to chill and a room to sleep. We had a couple friends (from another floor) come and visit. Perfect spot to chill, talk, and play games. And the bed was amazing. Usually hotel room beds suck! This bed was amazing!!!!!!!! So comfortable! And plenty of pillows. Ahh! Living the dream. Movies on demand. And then...as I turn off the television and the air turns off....UGH! The outside life caught up to us. The neighboring bar decided to jam! Club music until 2:30 am! I felt like the patrons were in the room with me! Ugh....Yes. It was Saturday night, but I am not 21 anymore! I wanted my sleep. When the air was blowing and tv were going it actually muffled some of the outdoor noises, but without..... ;(! Hopefully, this is just a Saturday night issue!? Because, otherwise, this place was perfect. The workers were SO helpful. They were amazing. The place was clean. We felt safe. Our only complaint was the noise....outdoors! A special thank you to the worker who found and kept our missing item safe until we could make it back! The people will never understand how thankful we are for their efforts! THANK YOU!!

*The actual location in Hartford was great! Easy to find, easy to access, felt safe, etc... Gave the low score because of the surrounding clubs! Bring ear plugs and you'll be fine! ;)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurassika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I recently stayed with a large group of people who were in town to volunteer for a high-profile memorial. I cannot express enough how this hotel went above and beyond to accommodate our needs for space and confidentiality. They made it clear to us what their communication was with their staff, ensuring that they maintained our need for privacy. Check-In was a breeze, I was worried there would be an awkward exchange concerning our reason for staying; the lady behind the counter was a warm "just the facts ma'am, just the facts," kind of woman--it was comforting.
The place was super clean, our rooms were the perfect size for getting together for last-minute preparations. People couldn't get over how big their rooms were! It was hard to choose from all the restaurants and pubs around the block, but we were really happy with 1 of the two restaurants right next door--besides being close, the food was GREAT, and it had a classy jazz/blues atmosphere. It was a little loud around bar closing time, but that's to be expected in any district with a lot of entertainment options. My nerves had me up late, and I only heard sirens once, which I think is a great reflection of how much Hartford Downtown has cleaned up in the last few years. We had early check-outs for our event, the Express Check-Out Card Drop rocked my dawn! Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here for business, for 2 nights. This location is about what I've experienced at other Homewood Suites locations, which is a good thing, even though I don't typically use the kitchen it is a nice to have. Staff was very friendly, room was clean. Nothing too fancy, and it was close by to my customers and my corporate offices but other than that not a whole bunch to do in the immediate area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kballtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#6 of 11 in Hartford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
Address: 338 Asylum St, Hartford, CT 06103-2020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our close proximity to the action of downtown Hartford, as well as the ease of traveling to Bradley International Airport, which is only 15 minutes away. We have all the comforts of home for your stay in Hartford, and our property is within walking distance to museums, nightlife and great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Hartford Downtown Hotel Hartford
Homewood Hartford
Hartford Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing