We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“More of a 3.5” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hartford
NYC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“More of a 3.5”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Nothing especially wrong with this hotel, but it's a bit odd and dated feeling.
PROS
- Our room was somehow a two bedroom suite. A good size and well appointed kitchen.
- Location: located downtown a block from the train and other venues.
- Clean and quiet (we had no bar issues) and generally a fine place to sleep.

CONS
- Kind of a strangely laid out hotel. Elevators are on the other side of the building from the front desk.
- Clean, but a bit dated. Carpets in some of the common areas are ragged looking.
- The room was clean, but also a bit dated looking.
- The area near the dining room is near the loading dock and kitchen area and is a bit stinky.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    109
    64
    45
    36
See reviews for
87
57
25
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fairhaven, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room on the 3rd floor was very clean and very spacious!!!! However, the noise from the bar next door was too much to allow a good night's sleep. There was lots of yelling, music, lots of bar noise. At 12:45am I called the front desk for assistance and the noise did quiet.
We asked for a 6:30am wake up call that never came!!!
All though the room was clean and spacious, very overpriced!!!!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the other side of the hotel if you choose their high prices you should be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bermudababe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at the Homewood Suites for three nights for the Hartford Marathon. We found the staff very friendly and welcoming. We were pleased with the light dinner and drinks provided on Thursday night when we arrived and breakfasts in the morning. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The location was excellent; we were able to walk to a number of restaurants and we were very close to the race start and finish. As the other reviewers have noted, there was some noise in the evenings but it was not felt to be excessive on the nights that we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRiih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton, mi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hotel sleeping suites clean and spacious. Price OK. Noise on certain nights (wed in particular) is a real problem. The hotel staff are very aware of the problem and just smile and tell you the hotel is sold out (every night). The noise is worst on the room numbers on each floor ending in 10. The bar next door has an outside deck on the 2nd floor with music and for patrons wanting to smoke.
Wed night is $1 beer night and the very loud noise didn't stop until after 2:30 am.
So even though the room was large and clean and the price ok (if it was not for the noise) I will never stay in this hotel again. In case you are wondering about the positive reviews, they are from folks that had the good fortune to have a room on "the other side" of the hotel away form the noise.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room that does not face the street or the bar next door. Everyone makes the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghwmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHartfordGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us in Hartford. We always appreciate hearing from our guests and using your comments to improve our guest’s experience. I understand that the noise from neighboring businesses and nightlife was an issue during your time with us. We know how important a good night’s rest is while traveling and we are working on a solution to the outside disturbances. I do hope the next time you return to the area you will consider staying with us again so that we may show you the quality experience you expect and deserve.

Thank you,

Jeff Bierly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hartford hotels

Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Our stay here was perfect! We booked because we were going to a wedding at the bond ballroom (top floor of the hotel), and we were not disappointed! The room was HUGE (we booked a one bedroom suite), with every amenity one could possibly imagine. The rooms were exceptionally clean, and the bed was quite comfy. The breakfast in the morning was much more than I ever expected, with hot foods, cold foods, fresh waffles, bagels, you name it!! I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrissyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Love the location, close to restaurants and great fall walking area around the State Capitol. Perfect to stay near the Bushnell when you want to relax and not have a late night home after a show. Good value. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenRizzuto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The Suite was big, bedroom almost too big, the office/kitchen a bit cramped but overall fine. The room was clean. The biggest problem for me was the noise. There is a night club or something next door, very loud music late into the night, also my refrigerator seemed to squeel at times.

They do have a service where they will run to the store for you, very convenient but they did totall y mess up one item that I was very specific (needed an antacid received a expired allergy medicine instead. Staff is friendly. I would stay there again but ask to be put on the other end of the building.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hartford Marriott Downtown
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#6 of 11 in Hartford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
Address: 338 Asylum St, Hartford, CT 06103-2020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our close proximity to the action of downtown Hartford, as well as the ease of traveling to Bradley International Airport, which is only 15 minutes away. We have all the comforts of home for your stay in Hartford, and our property is within walking distance to museums, nightlife and great restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Hartford Downtown Hotel Hartford
Homewood Hartford
Hartford Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing