We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice seafood options”
Review of Chowder Pot IV

Chowder Pot IV
Ranked #21 of 439 Restaurants in Hartford
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice seafood options”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We visited the Chowder pot as soon we got to Hartford while waiting for our room. We found it via a suggestion from a forum poster on here. We got there no problem, this place is huge. We were seated right away and we wanted to try a lobster roll since we were in New England. We ordered 1 of each butter and with mayo we spilt then and they were both good but we decided the buttered is our favorite. It came with salad and a side, service was good. The place is decorated in an old nautical feel it was cool. We enjoyed it an would return again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MzNikki130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    100
    62
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Littleton
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great chowder, lobster & a brew!”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

In town for business & was referred here by a local coworker. Hanging out in the bar for some great seafood & both the Bruins/Penguins & Red Sox/Rangers games! If I'm gonna be out of town & away from the family, this is pretty darn good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jschalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Hill, CT
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clams”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

really enjoyed the fried whole belly clams. The bread has a nice sweet taste. The meal also came with a salad and a choice of potatoes

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vivian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New small fare menu is perfect $$ & portions!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Definitely check out their we small portions menu. The size of the meal is just right and the price is even better! I have to recommend the seafood imperial - since it is delicious and has tons of seafood in it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachandFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of tasty food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The portions are huge for the price, but the place seems to rush you in and out. Our waiter seemed uninterested although we were well taken care of. I would recommend that the management encourage the staff to be a little more perky. I do agree with others that they could have some more choices for the landlubbers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joeflav1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowder Pot IV also viewed

 

Been to Chowder Pot IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing