We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the most imaginative dishes around”
Review of Trumbull Kitchen

Trumbull Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Trumbull Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 439 Restaurants in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Pearl Street
Bristol, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Some of the most imaginative dishes around”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Chef Torla and his gang do a great job at this restaurant. My husband has one request: bring back the chicken sandwich from the lunch menu!!

If you want a quick bite try a couple of their appetizers they are creative and all are delicious.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jody18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    159
    44
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Bad experiences several times now”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I work near TK, so have gone there a lot, but the last few times have been not good at all. We celebrated our anniversary there a couple of months ago, and the service was not good. The hostess was a disaster from head to toe and organization-wise. Today, I went with friends and it was just awful. Our waiter, "Johnny" was absent and forgot everything...he even forgot to take our order! We were there for more than half an hour before we had to get another server to take our order! The appetizer plates with dirty and stuck together, and my friend's salmon was half RAW. The worst part (besides the slooooooowwwwww and non-existent service) was that he was utterly unapologetic about any of it. In fact, he was rude and gruff. I'm sorry to say that after these two experiences, I won't be going back soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tdumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent dining”
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Trumbull Kitchen is part of the Max's Resturant Group (in the Hartford area this translate to quality dining), and lives up to expectations. Food, service and atmosphere are great quality. Trumbull Kitchen is at the higher end of the price scale for Max Resturants however (somewhere between Max Downtown and Max Bibos), which is to say its a bit on the pricy side. It is important to understand that you should expect great food, however your bill will not be small.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SwampYankee427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average Max”
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I travel to Hartford regularly and can usually count on the Max restaurants, but Trumbull Kitchen didn't meet the usual Max standards. One entree (crackling pork) was great; the other (scallops) left much to be desired. And our waiter seemed so rushed but left us waiting for too long for every step of the process.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TracyLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, MA
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Food, Busy Place”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Reservations are a MUST, especially on weekends and if there is a show at the nearby XL Center. We had three people in our party, and made reservations about 3 weeks in advance through opentable.com. Reservations were confirmed that morning via a phone call from the restaurant. Trumbull Kitchen is a hip, dimly lit place that can get loud when crowded. If you're lucky you can get a spot for dinner at the bar, but if you come after 5:30 without a reservation, you'll most likely be out of luck. My husband ordered the meatloaf, which he'd eaten there before, and it didn't disappoint. My daughter and I ordered the Herb Cured Brick Pressed Chicken that we enjoyed very much. Service was prompt. We were pleased with our meals.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dmurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trumbull Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Trumbull Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing