We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A worthy addition to the group” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coyote Flaco Mexican Food

Coyote Flaco Mexican Food
Ranked #107 of 431 Restaurants in Hartford
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
98 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A worthy addition to the group”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The original Coyote Flaco is in a tough part of Port Chester, New York, in a beaten-up buildiing. I love it, and the Mexican food is excellent. Today I was in Hartford, Connecticut and noticed another Coyote Flaco there. The neighborhood for this one is residential, and most of the patrons looked local to me (a good sign). The food, too, was similar (but just very good). On the whole, good Mexican food in a somewhat retro wood paneled venue that obviously once was some other sort of restaurant. That's fine by me.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nutmeg06878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Finally found an authentic Mexican restaurant! Presentation, price, quality and service all rank 5's in my book. The exterior does not really reflect what is inside this little jewel of a place. The staff is very warm and friendly and make you feel at home. Great little neighborhood restaurant and one we will go back to again and again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Doodis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
373 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Authentic, Neighborly Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

A very good restaurant located in the South West section of Hartford. Very authentic Mexican food without the high prices. It has a very relaxed, neighborly feel to it. All the standard Mexican dishes are served with good sized portions. Loved the frozen mango margarita!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank W-Hartford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Guacamole and flan were very good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was my second trip to Coyote Flaco. The Mexican food is average, but the guacamole and flan are extremely tasty. The portions are reasonable, as are the prices. The restaurant offers drink specials regularly. What I like most about this restaurant is that, while the wait staff is attentive, they allow you the time to have a long meal without trying to rush you out the door. This is a nice family-run place to have a leisurely meal with friends.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTrioFromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“This is one of the things I will miss about CT. I discovered it only months before moving.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2008

This is one of the things I will miss about CT. I discovered it only months before moving.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coyote Flaco Mexican Food also viewed

 

Been to Coyote Flaco Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing