We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”
Review of Vito's By the Park - CLOSED

Vito's By the Park
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wells St.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
“Great place!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I've eaten there plenty of times, and always a great experience. The raw bar is one of the better ones you'll find in the area, the patio is great in the summer, and even when "shooting from the hip" on the wine selection, I've never been disappointed. Only downside is it can get kind of hectic on a nice day when the patio is open, or when there is an event at the Bushnell or certain events at the XL Center (or whatever its going by these days). If you want a nice dining experience, I'd suggest just avoid those times.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    51
    31
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Unionville, CT
Level Contributor
58 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“On the edge of the park with nice views with a decent Happy Hour !”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Came to Vito's by the park with a friend to enjoy some apps at the bar. My friend ordered the Girl Scout Thin Mint martini which was good but also very sweet, I had a glass of wine Sav. Blanc. We were excited to see that since we were there on a Tuesday for half price raw bar, we order a dozen raw oysters to share and they had 3 different types, served with lemon and cocktail sauce, they were so good that we ordered a dozen more. After the Oysters we had the mussels that were also half price, part of happy hour, they came in a bowl with a spicy red sauce and were delish. Then we shared there calamari app which comes sauteed with capers, onions, tomatoes and white wine with lemon this was good but needed salt and something else....Then we ordered an app off the dinner menu called :FIOCCHI Four Cheese & Pears. Spicy Cream Sauce, this was a very rich but very spicy and tasty choice. The last app. we ordered was the Tuna lollipops, wasn't really a lollipop more of a fish on a stick. The teriyaki flavoring was overpowering and the salad underneath was also too spicy. Overall it was a good experience. I would probably try an entree next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pacha33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Would try other places”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We were there for a party and they seemed overwhelmed. It took for the food to come out and when it did it was just average. The pizza was bland. It was extremely loud in there and there was lines for the bathroom (1 mens 1 women's for a large place). When you pull up it looks like they have valet but they don't. Hartford must have better places.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Just not a pleasant experience”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hostess greeted us with the "bad" news that they were having a large private party in the main dining area and there were no tables available there. We were seated in a dismal looking side area. The service was poor. It took a long time for a waitress to even acknowledge our presence and get drinks. We weren't ready to order when the waitress first checked with us and it took a very long time to get her to return to the table for our order. The wait time between placing the order and receiving our food was lengthy. Once the food arrived, the waitress never checked back with us. Fortunately, we were able to take advantage of the happy hour half price special on their specialty pizzas. The original price of them is in the $14 - $16 range, a ridiculous price for a small pizza. The pizza was ok, but not worth the price. When the bill finally arrived, we again had another lengthy wait for our receipt and change. I am in no hurry to return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlyEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a return trip”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My daughter and I stopped in for an early dinner, and ended up getting soup and salad. The beet, blood orange and goat cheese salad was the best salad we've ever had! Every bite was a burst of flavor, and my daughter is still talking about it. The pasta fagioli was filling and comforting and just enough. There was a nice selection of dinner entrees, but by the time we'd finished off the excellent hot and tasty focaccia, we were out of room. Our waiter Johnny, was excellent, and we also got great advice for late night coffee spots from Brett. We returned for lunch the next day and tried the lemon chicken with capers. Delicious! Super knowledgeable staff, perfect protions, everything was great. This would be perfect for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mia2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vito's By the Park also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing