We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food & Rustic Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vito's By the Park

Vito's By the Park
Reserve with OpenTable
Vito's By the Park is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 431 Restaurants in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wells St.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food & Rustic Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a business dinner here yesterday. The place has rustic decor, but white cloth table cloths. We started with calamari and stuffed gnosh. It was good. I had the special which was salmon with rissotto. I added a ceasar salad. The main course was very good. I could not eat it all. The ceasar salad was the typical ceasar salad.

We had good service. The server was very good about explaining the dishes. She also was attentive making sure we had drinks. She noticed we were drinking a lot of water so she placed a carafe of water at the table...nice touch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank satxsptsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    51
    31
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
352 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Awful experience!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We went to Vitos prior to a 7pm show at Bushnell Arriving at 5:45 at the restaurant we were seated immediately as it was not very crowded. The area abuts the main door and the cold air each time the opened made the area like a refrigerator. My wife wore her coat. Since we were not starving and wanted to be sure we had time to eat and get to the show we ordered only an antipasti platter (salami and cheese) and two appetizers. Our soft drinks didn't come for some time. The Antipasti was delivered in about 15 minutes and was just ok. The meats and cheese were ok, nothing special, but was way overpriced. We waited another 30 minutes and still no appetizers. It was now after 6:30 and the busboy told us the manager checked and our food would be coming "Shortly". At this point we were fed up and asked for the bill. The waiter arrived and apologized and said that the food was almost ready. We again asked for the bill and waited about 5 more minutes when he returned with the appetizers. He apologized again and told us the bill was taken care of, which we did appreciate it. We sampled the food which was ok, and left. At this point it was almost 6:45. An hour to get an appetizer? They did get busy suddenly at 6:00 but there was no excuse. The prices were also steep in my opinion. Obviously, based upon our experience we will find another restaurant when we visit downtown Hartford for a show.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
419 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Vito's By the Park is a great restaurant with a beautiful view of the park. The decor is warm and welcoming and we had a nice spot reserved for our group by the fireplace. A group of 15 colleagues from work enjoyed an excellent lunch together. Service was excellent as they first served baskets of delicious rolls and foccacia bread, a tasty garden salad and then an assortment of 5 different pizzas (that had been ordered ahead). Everything was fantastic and a perfect experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loves2Research
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
183 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were in the city for the marathon. We showed up to the restaurant 15 minutes early,
our waiter Brent was very accomodating. Welcomed us in and lit the fire for us.
He knew we had to be back to the finish line and made sure our food was
served quickly. We had the margarita pizza, stuffed pizza, salads and
pasta fagiolis soup. All of it was very good. Excellent location by the
park! Will go back again!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CtUSAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect CT
Level Contributor
158 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I went there before a show at the XL Center. They were kind enough to keep my car in valet parking untilt he show was over. The waitress made sure our dinners were served timely so we would make the show in time. That's Vito's!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vito's By the Park also viewed

 

Been to Vito's By the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing