We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Mexican food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monte Alban Restaurant

Monte Alban Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 431 Restaurants in Hartford
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Connecticut
Level Contributor
305 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I've traveled through most of Mexico on 4 trips, so I've had a chance to become familiar with its cuisines. Monte Alban reminds me of that food without disappointment. Unlike Mexican chains that overfill one's plate with gooey cheese, Monte Alban uses authentic ingredients, such as cotija, appropriately and in good balance. These aren't the heavy, greasy dishes that you find in the chains; they're lighter and fresher tasting but still filling and ample. The menu is large, and everyone should be able to find something pleasing here. Fortunately, there are combination plates that allow diners to try a couple different items at a time, because it will be hard to make a choice from so many delicious-sounding foods. Good for children because there are so many well-known foods. Also, don't worry too much about spicyness. It's not all hot peppers; many dishes are flavorful without much heat. The restaurant is a bit dark and boxy, but they've painted the walls in vibrant colors to liven it up. Casual dining. I recommend it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutLocavore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“salty food and they insisted I pay for something I took one bite of”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I ordered a dish that should have been spicy. It tasted like I put salt on my tongue, thats how salty it was. It was not edible. They insisted I pay for it and when I asked if I could have at least another dish, they said NO. These are not nice people. I am a good person and visit a lot of restaurants and have never seen or heard of such appaling ignorant behavior. Apparently a lot of people like this place and something happened to my order, but they wouldnt even listen. He said, You ordered it, you have to pay for it. I thought of refusing, but didnt want to have to talk to the Hartford police, because I didnt have time to wait. AND it was mothers day. When I called them later on to explain, thinking it has to be a mistake, they laughed at me and still didnt care. Dont visit this place. They are horrible people.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HAND1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I thought I was in the Valley of Oaxaca.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Monte Albán has offered me a little vacation. I thought I was in the Valley of Oaxaca. The pork chops actually tasted like pork! All of you classic favorites will please you.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank madcoweater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

This is the place to go for authentic Mexican food. It is not texmex with cheddar cheese and sour cream. If you want the real thing, eat here. If you want a big blue Marguerita, eat somewhere else.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lulupink2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Our favorite Mexican restuarant in New England”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

We are Californians. We are very picky about our Mexican food. Very. Monte Alban is the best that we can find in New England. It is authentic, tasty, and the family that runs it are very, very kind. They remember all of their repeat customers and the owner always comes by our table to chat. In addition, we often find Mexican families eating there, so we know it's the "real thing".

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CurlyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte Alban Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Monte Alban Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing