We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, friendly service”
Review of Bin 228 Wine Bar

Bin 228 Wine Bar
Ranked #16 of 494 Restaurants in Hartford
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: bin228 a.k.a. "the bin" is a cozy wine bar in downtown Hartford serving small plates, risotto, panini and offering over 55 wines by the glass in addition to a full bar.
Reviewed February 8, 2019

We had dinner here before the show at TheaterWorks, which is right across the street. We shared the jumbo Crab cake, which was delicious, and then each ordered the flank steak panini, also terrific. We finished with a shared chocolatey dessert. The service was friendly and efficient too. It’s obviously a good place for wine, but sadly we had to abstain because we wanted to be wide awake for the show and the (snowy) drive home!

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cbs651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 122 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2019 via mobile

After one week of business trip through the us Bun daved us! Italy was teally there. Nice apetizers, anti-pasti etc...we chosen 2 difgrent wines, nero davola et and nebiolo "justo pergecto". About food : risotto, anti-pasti, meat etc were tasty. As a french and italian guy these syep in our tour was the first joyus expetience. We were served by a friendly guy..try here! That is the real life in the "old continent"! Thanks for that. Chris

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 177krisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2019

Stopped in on a Saturday night before going to the Hartford Stage ( a 5 minute walk away) and had a wonderful dinner of goat cheese crostini, 4 different bruschettas: asparagus and parmesan, apple honey and brie, white bean puree, and mushrooms and fontina and all were excellent ( well, maybe the apple, honey and brie was a little bland). We also had terrific charred cauliflower and crispy Brussels sprouts that were just delicious. The wine list is good, martinis were good, macchiatos and biscotti and dessert wines were good. Service was warm and friendly and welcoming.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank v0yageur22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2018

My adult family members and I had dinner here and I can highly recommend the place. It is a small, bistro-type place with a small bar and table seating. We sampled several of their appetizers and small dishes and all were excellent, as was the service. They also had an excellent wine and cocktail list. It really is a gem of a place. I would definitely go back the next time I'm in Hartford. I could have eaten a dozen of their bacon wrapped dates and had a second charcuterie plate - can highly recommend.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mohsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2018 via mobile

We ordered 3 different small plates- both the cauliflower and brussel sprouts were served luke warm, lacking appeal and would not recommend. The lamb meatballs were good but like the wine, very much overpriced.
The restaurant atmosphere is charming and cozy and could have so much potential if they upgraded their food and reduced the wine glass prices.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Louise_and_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bin 228 Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bin 228 Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing