We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“renovations are finished...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trinity Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Trinity Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 431 Restaurants in Hartford
Cuisines: Italian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Cromwell, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“renovations are finished...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

and the place is gorgeous...remember the little room in front...that is now for overflow...the dining room is huge and the menu remains so good...had the osso buco and it was perfect...the lamb sandwich is a bunch of meals rolled into one delicious hunk of food

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ThomasEu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
236 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“They now have a liquor license.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had lunch here one Saturday afternoon with an old Trinity fraternity brother who just retired after 52 years as an Economics professor at Trinity. This place has had various reincarnations since it was called Over The Rocks in our undergraduate days, and the owner Phil specialized in making grinders and serving draft beer.

This is now the best it has ever been. We were about the only ones there for Saturday lunch, but it can fill up for supper. The recent addition of a liquor license has increased business.

I had an open faced Australian lamb sandwich that was quite unusual and tasty. Brother Curran, who eats here regularly, had the penne ala vodka in a rich cream sauce. He commented very favorably about various entrees he has had, though he can't eat shellfish, of which they have several choices.

Easy to access with plenty of on street parking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank HealthyGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensbury, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have been coming here for three years, always during the Travelers Championship golf tournament. We are not from the area, but our first visit was so good, we keep coming back. As others have mentioned, it is a family restaurant, and the food is very good! We will be coming back this June for our fourth year. It is not fancy, but the food and service more than make up for that. Actually, I have been to many "fancy" restaurants that food wise do not match up.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rlaakso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of our favorite restaurants in Hartford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have been eating here regularlary for years, mostly lunches but occasionally dinners too. The food is uniformly excellent, especially the pasta dishes, and the prices can't be beat for the quality of the food. The owners are lovely people and incredibly hardworking. I highly recommend. And yes, the homemade butternut squash ravioli is addictive, as the other commenters have noted.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank emcurry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Ct
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Trinity's little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Definitely worth a trip to this little restaurant owned my the same family for years at the back side of the campus. Gets a little loud on weekend nights when the college kids are around-it is a BYOB so there seems to be some underage drinking pretty regularly. Best appetizer ever is the butternut ravioli with this amazing reduction of balsamic and maple. Great osa buka. Don't miss it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trinity Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Trinity Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing