We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay at the Marriot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Great Stay at the Marriot”
Reviewed March 31, 2009

My friend and I recently stayed at the Hartford Marriot Down and enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and had a comfortable feeling. The staff at the Marriot were very helpful and recommended a great restaurant for us to try for dinner. My friend and I went to the theater to see a broadway show. By the way, A Chorus Line was a great show. We were impressed when the hotel provide us with free shutter bus that picked us up at the restaurant and then brought us to the theater. We had a good breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel as well. I would highly recommended this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlacoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    241
    74
    16
    13
See reviews for
101
114
31
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2009

This hotel is new, clean, and bright. There is an excellent bar and restaurant on premises. It also has a good fitness facility. Rooms were clean, well appointed, everything worked. TV, phone, internet, fixtures, etc. all worked and were in good operating order. Prices were high for Hartford, but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FargoJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeway, Virginia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2008

Stayed over while giving a training seminar to clients. Hotel is very nice, just what you expect out of the Marriott name. Really pretty standard Marriott. The Starbucks in the lobby appeared to be more of a lounge. The cocktail lounge was visually aesthetic but was a typical hotel bar, lacking any special atmosphere beyond the impermanence of its patrons. The sundries wasn't great, not having some really essential stuff like hairspray and toothbrushes. That being said, there is a pharmacy within walking distance, a nice Italian restaturant (Spree's) close by and a pub slash sportbar across the street.
If I were traveling on my own dime I would probably look into other close by hotels with less expensive parking. This was a good choice for my company, however, because the staff was extremely attentive with the training seminar. Food was excellent, service was excellent and the facilities were very nice. People checked on us setting up and provided everything we needed quickly and cheerfully. Good choice for dealing with clients.

  • Liked — Proximity to sights
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

This hotel was above average, but unremarkable.

My room was comfortably appointed, but in need of refreshing. The color scheme was an unappealing mix of ketchup-red and mustard-yellow and there was a splotch on the wallpaper in the entry that looked like a stain that had been scrubbed out. It was clean, however, and had wireless Internet access (for $10/day) and nice bath products.

The service was very good. I found the staff to be universally friendly, helpful, and accommodating.

There is a nice bar in the lobby as well as a Starbucks, and the room service menu is appealing and reasonably priced. There is also a high-end restaurant in the hotel, but my colleague and I both became ill after sharing a plate of calamari there, so I cannot recommend it.

Overall, the Hartford Marriott Downtown was better than average for a business hotel -- it certainly appeared that the majority of guests were business travelers -- and didn't cause me any grief or inconvenience. I probably would not stay there for a vacation, however.

  • Liked — Very good customer service.
  • Disliked — The room was not aesthetically pleasing.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Burlingtonienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomfild CT
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2008

I stay there for 3 days with my gust from Japan. I really was impress with every thing excellent friendly service and nice rooms. I have to say this is the best stay in Hartford.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Marc-dipietri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2008

The Marriott is always a choice place to stay. The downtown location in Hartford is no exception. We had a really nice view and a great room. Comfortable and clean. Exceptional staff. Starbucks in the lobby to get a cup of joe and a bagel. There is now a shuttle that stops at the Marriott every twelve minutes until 11pm, with points to get on/off at the restaurants and places of interest around town. Very, very handy.

  • Liked — Location and quality
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2008

After reading reviews on this website, I decided to try this hotel for one night while I was in the area to see a concert. The hotel was booked. When I tried closer to the time I was interested in staying, a room was available, so I was very happy. This hotel was very nice. The restaurant and starbucks inside were very quick and convenient. The rooms were a nice size, and everything was clean.

The only thing that wasn't my favorite was parking. There is a garage close to the hotel, which has a section for hotel guests only, and you needed to get a card stamped to get a special hotel price. I would have preferred just a regular parking lot, but that wasn't so bad.

  • Liked — decent location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPrincess1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
0.5 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 12 in Hartford
1,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 12 in Hartford
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Marriott Downtown

Property: Hartford Marriott Downtown
Address: 200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hartford
#2 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartford Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartford Marriott Downtown is a luxury hotel interconnected to the Connecticut Convention Center. This Hartford hotel offers a unique setting for meetings, wedding receptions, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Hartford Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel Hartford
Marriott Hartford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing