We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went For an Event - Had a Good Time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Traveled to Hartford for a United Way event that was being held at the Marriott. Thought it would just be another boring business trip, but turned out to be a good time. The facilities are all in great shape, the staff very pleasant and happy to help. We not only ate at the event but also at the bar, Crush, and breakfast at Vivo, and they all were good! We were also close enough to walk to two meetings in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Upintheairtoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thank you for writing about your experience on TripAdvisor. We are so glad to hear that you had a great weekend and we appreciate you sharing your comments with other travelers. We hope to see you again should you have the occasion to be in Hartford!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for Hartford Marriott Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

456 - 462 of 714 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

Staying at this Marriott for work. Downtown Hartford is pretty desolate at night, and this place is within walking distance of where I am working. The hotel has a Starbucks and a pretty nice looking restaurant in the lobby. The lobby looks to have been renovated fairly recently. The rooms are definitely on the older side, but clean. No complaints, other than they are definitely not vacuuming those carpets. Most hotel rooms, the carpets aren't sparkling but these are especially grubby. Room service is decent, although I wish they would have the same menu as the restaurant, at least during the hours it's open. It's solid place for business travel.

Room Tip: Since it's not super busy downtown, I don't think noise is a big factor. But there is a fre...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twill504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed here for a concert in January.

Hotel itself is pretty nice - convenient location, nicely decorated and has a nice lobby. Rooms themselves are nice and clean, but a little on the small side.

Only issue we had was when calling for a taxi - front desk never called me back and I had to go downstairs to talk with the front desk.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMR_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback to TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you found the hotel decor pleasing, the rooms clean, and location convenient. We apologize that you did not receive a call back from the desk regarding your taxi reservation. We have made the front desk staff aware of your comment to ensure special attention is paid to this area to avoid future occurrences. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a really nice hotel. The lobby is pretty spacious and has a great entranceway. Great being here for a convention because it is so close to the actual event. Didn't have to travel far between the venue and the room. It could use more elevators though. They were very crowded. The rooms are nice, not to much if a view but that is more the city than the hotel.
Food in the area is good. They have a few options in the area and within a couple of blocks away. They also have a really good restaurant in the hotel. Food was very good. The bar needs to be bigger though. Not a lot of room for the amount if people they had. But the bartenders were great. Vanessa and John really handled things well. Great drinks and made my party feel good. But everyone who worked there were great. Really good people who seem to know about taking care of people. Best place to stay in the area.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank BigCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you so much for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the feedback and are very happy that you enjoyed our Vivo restaurant, our staff and the hotel. We will share your positive comments with the staff members you mentioned -Vanessa and John- and recognize them for their efforts as well. This weekend there were two large conventions being held at the Connecticut Convention Center with sleeping rooms at our hotel, which made for quite a busy environment. We apologize for any wait times you may have experienced with the elevators or in the bar. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I came here for a convention. Wouldn't go to hartford for pleasure. Not much there. But the hotel is the best location if you are at the convention center. The hotel was really busy but the people there are great. The room was nice and the gym and spa area are definitely above average for a hotel. The restaurant at vivo was very good. Busy, which caused a wait. But eating at the bar is a great option. John the bartender really will keep you laughing while you wait for food. Drinks are great too. Bar is a bit on the small side, though.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Katevball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I am not a fan of Hartford, however, the Marriott is a tried and true experienec. Nothing special, but certainly clean, comfortable rooms. I can always count on gett8ing a room at a rteasonable rate and I always get what I expect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Domenic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We were attending a trade show at the convention center and this was the hotel we were recommended to stay in. We have been to this hotel before and it was alright.

We checked in via the mobile app, and arrived at the time specified. There was only one person at the desk helping a person check in when we arrived and so we couldn't go to the mobile check in spot at the desk. We waited quite a long time for someone else to come (returning from lunch perhaps) and take the next customer, until finally a third clerk arrived to help us. There were, supposedly, no king rooms available at that time (our preference) and we were asked if we "really need a king". Seriously? The person next to us had just been given a king room on the 20th floor, and we had already checked in online... I mentioned this to the clerk who went on to explain that checking in online wasn't really checking in- it was just telling them when we would be there, and that check in wasn't really until 4PM. OK, so why bother? A question for another time.
A king room was found on the 5th floor, which we took. The room was fine, although the usual number of pillows were not on the bed. We rectified this later by asking for more to be brought and they were.
We were also given a voucher for a free breakfast the next morning, as the concierge lounge was not open on the weekend. This turned out to be a wonderful substitute for us, as it was for the full breakfast buffet. Very nice perk indeed.

Would I recommend this hotel? Only if you have a convention or show at the conference center next door.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank principalcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you were able to take advantage of the Marriott mobile app for your check-in. We do have a separate area for mobile check-in guests, to expedite your arrival, and we apologize for the delay in getting you through the line and providing you a room that best met your preferences. We apologize for the wait time and understand your frustration, we will manage this process better. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Thank you for your feedback so that we can improve in these areas and better meet our customer needs. An “OK” experience is not acceptable. Our goal is for you to have a brilliant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
0.5 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 12 in Hartford
1,113 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Goodwin
The Goodwin
#5 of 12 in Hartford
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#6 of 12 in Hartford
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hartford
#2 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range: $174 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartford Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartford Marriott Downtown is a luxury hotel interconnected to the Connecticut Convention Center. This Hartford hotel offers a unique setting for meetings, wedding receptions, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hartford Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel Hartford
Marriott Hartford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing