We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a really nice hotel. The lobby is pretty spacious and has a great entranceway. Great being here for a convention because it is so close to the actual event. Didn't have to travel far between the venue and the room. It could use more elevators though. They were very crowded. The rooms are nice, not to much if a view but that is more the city than the hotel.
Food in the area is good. They have a few options in the area and within a couple of blocks away. They also have a really good restaurant in the hotel. Food was very good. The bar needs to be bigger though. Not a lot of room for the amount if people they had. But the bartenders were great. Vanessa and John really handled things well. Great drinks and made my party feel good. But everyone who worked there were great. Really good people who seem to know about taking care of people. Best place to stay in the area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BigCarlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing us on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the feedback and are very happy that you enjoyed our Vivo restaurant, our staff and the hotel. We will share your positive comments with the staff members you mentioned -Vanessa and John- and recognize them for their efforts as well. This weekend there were two large conventions being held at the Connecticut Convention Center with sleeping rooms at our hotel, which made for quite a busy environment. We apologize for any wait times you may have experienced with the elevators or in the bar. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    241
    74
    16
    13
See reviews for
101
114
31
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Haven, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I came here for a convention. Wouldn't go to hartford for pleasure. Not much there. But the hotel is the best location if you are at the convention center. The hotel was really busy but the people there are great. The room was nice and the gym and spa area are definitely above average for a hotel. The restaurant at vivo was very good. Busy, which caused a wait. But eating at the bar is a great option. John the bartender really will keep you laughing while you wait for food. Drinks are great too. Bar is a bit on the small side, though.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Katevball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I am not a fan of Hartford, however, the Marriott is a tried and true experienec. Nothing special, but certainly clean, comfortable rooms. I can always count on gett8ing a room at a rteasonable rate and I always get what I expect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domenic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We were attending a trade show at the convention center and this was the hotel we were recommended to stay in. We have been to this hotel before and it was alright.

We checked in via the mobile app, and arrived at the time specified. There was only one person at the desk helping a person check in when we arrived and so we couldn't go to the mobile check in spot at the desk. We waited quite a long time for someone else to come (returning from lunch perhaps) and take the next customer, until finally a third clerk arrived to help us. There were, supposedly, no king rooms available at that time (our preference) and we were asked if we "really need a king". Seriously? The person next to us had just been given a king room on the 20th floor, and we had already checked in online... I mentioned this to the clerk who went on to explain that checking in online wasn't really checking in- it was just telling them when we would be there, and that check in wasn't really until 4PM. OK, so why bother? A question for another time.
A king room was found on the 5th floor, which we took. The room was fine, although the usual number of pillows were not on the bed. We rectified this later by asking for more to be brought and they were.
We were also given a voucher for a free breakfast the next morning, as the concierge lounge was not open on the weekend. This turned out to be a wonderful substitute for us, as it was for the full breakfast buffet. Very nice perk indeed.

Would I recommend this hotel? Only if you have a convention or show at the conference center next door.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank principalcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you were able to take advantage of the Marriott mobile app for your check-in. We do have a separate area for mobile check-in guests, to expedite your arrival, and we apologize for the delay in getting you through the line and providing you a room that best met your preferences. We apologize for the wait time and understand your frustration, we will manage this process better. We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. Thank you for your feedback so that we can improve in these areas and better meet our customer needs. An “OK” experience is not acceptable. Our goal is for you to have a brilliant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is my second stay here for an annual trade show. Sleep was a BIG issue...the bed was like CEMENT...so hard that it did not even move when I sat on the edge or rolled over. VERY uncomfortable...the floor may have been better :(

Don't get thirsty...the ice machine on our floor was broken and the vending machine was out of water. We tried 3 other floors before finding ONE bottle of water in a machine. Went to the front desk as they sell water there...and they charge a dollar more than the machine for the exact same water! The hotel bar would not sell us bottled water to go!

I was told in the parking garage to get my parking card stamped at the front desk. NOBODY bothered to tell me that it was simply for a discounted parking rate that was still $19 a day!

Late checkout maximum time is only 1 extra hour or they will charge another half day! And I am a Marriott Silver member.

On the plus side, food was OK and there is a restaurant and a bar on premise.

If sleep and a free breakfast appeals to you and you don't mind going out to eat (staff is MUCH friendlier and helpful too, as well as NICE beds)...go to the Hampton Inn literally behind the convention center. Cheaper too..

Room Tip: Don't...go elsewhere or beware!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NyTravelinMan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We understand that preferences in bedding can vary greatly from guest, to guest, and although we do get many compliments on the Marriott bedding, there are those who prefer a softer mattress. We apologize for not immediately providing you a complimentary beverage at our front desk, when the vending machine was out of water. We have set procedures in place to ensure that this process does not re-occur. Depending on the time period you were here, please understand that we may not have been able to extend a complimentary late check-out. A high volume of incoming guests on the same day as a high volume of check-outs, would have severely limited the amount of time our housekeeping staff would have to clean and prepare the rooms for incoming guests at 4pm (regular check-in time). We apologize for any inconvenience. The parking garage is owned by the State of Connecticut and operated by Laz parking. Their rates are posted at entry gates, as well as on our website. We apologize if the rate structure was not clearly explained by valet staff. We have shared your comments with them as well. Thank you for sharing your experience with us so that we can keep improving our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed in this hotel because it is connected to a conference center in which I was participating. The hotel is good, but the prices are extremely expensive. And the neighborhood is not very beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for writing to us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback. The Adriaen's Landing neighborhood has slowly been developing over the last few years and we are excited to say that this district is adding more and more entertainment. The Convention Center, Science Center, Spotlight Theatre, Capital Grille and the much anticipated Infinity Music Hall (opening this summer) are all in walking distance from the hotel. Riverfront Recapture offers outside concerts and food festivals all summer long by the river on Mortenson plaza connected to the Science Center. These are just a few things happening in the immediate area near our hotel. We hope that you will give Hartford another chance should you be in the area. We appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel was very busy accommodating180 teams who were attending a volleyball tournament at the adjacent convention center. Very convenient to go back and forth to the center. We had an issue with the linens: we were given 4 pillows total for 2 double beds and a single face cloth. The staff agreed to send pillows, but when none came for an hour we checked at the front desk and we were told they were out. Eventually they arranged for European pillows to be sent up as well as the face cloths. Overall the staff was very accommodating and pleasant to deal with.
We also requested an early check in and were pleasantly surprised when we were able to check in at noon. No complimentary breakfast: charged for coffee in the lobby which was mediocre at best.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathtraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
0.5 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 12 in Hartford
1,077 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 12 in Hartford
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Marriott Downtown

Property: Hartford Marriott Downtown
Address: 200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hartford
#2 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartford Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartford Marriott Downtown is a luxury hotel interconnected to the Connecticut Convention Center. This Hartford hotel offers a unique setting for meetings, wedding receptions, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hartford Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel Hartford
Marriott Hartford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing