We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business traveler, stayed here every week for a year, wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Business traveler, stayed here every week for a year, wonderful!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

So much to say, that I need to summarize or I will go on for ever. Ali, Lourdes, Mary and everyone on staff made my year feel like I was with family. The restaurant food was superb, night after night. Each room I stayed in was immaculate and comfortable. The staff is what made this probably the best hotel I have stayed at in the last 5 years; every person from the bellman to the desk staff to room service to the restaurant were the nicest, most professional and happiest group of individuals I have ever encountered.

Room Tip: Register for Marriott Rewards. You get even extra special treatment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for the kind words! I will certainly share your comments with the entire team. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks again for sharing your comments about the Hartford Marriott Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    247
    74
    16
    14
See reviews for
104
116
31
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Only stayed for a quick overnight trip to UConn, but I loved the hotel. It was clean and decorated nicely, the room and shower were clean too. There's a starbucks downstairs, and a movie theater across the street (the sign said you can get a bar drink and bring it into the movies). It's also close to the convention center and science center. One drawback, the beds were kinda hard.

Room Tip: On Saturday nights, there is music in the bar/club, it was a little loud in the lobby but couldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfGirl816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for leaving your review with the Tripadvisor community. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed our prime location in downtown Hartford. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Hartford!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley on Hudson, NY
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Mor for business travelers with the Convention Center literally right next door. Not much to walk around the Hotel itself large Hotel- decent restaurant and nice rooftop gym with in-door pool, Nothing special or bad- a typical Marriott- clean, well kept, standard rooms- etc. As usual high floors best - in this case facing North- Northwest I think are better (can see theHartford River and rolling hillsides etc. rather than just the "city".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanONYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hi, we three women traveled to Hartford for a convention. We asked for a roll away bed which was provided. Staff was very helpful, immediately replacing an iron that did not work. The hotel restaurant is good, if a bit pricey. Buffet breakfast is worth it. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaj2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Good location in downtown Hartford. Adjacent to the convention centre and just a few blocks to many restaurants. Extremely easy access on/off the interstate, parking is easy.

Spent one night here in early May in town for the Anthony Bourdain show at the Bushnell Theatre. They recognized the fact that it was my wife’s birthday by putting us in a corner room on the 17th floor. Excellent view from up there and the corner rooms are slightly larger than the standard king rooms. Rooms are clean, well appointed, and up to date. Good desk, lots of light, nice décor – really no complaints it meets all Marriott standards. Bathroom was a little small, but bath/shower combo was large with good amenities and again very clean. We slept incredibly well, which was important to us, as the soundproofing is excellent. Never heard our neighbours and under the door is well sealed.

Staff when called upon were very friendly. Didn’t use the pool but it looked nice. Starbucks in the lobby or short walk for other breakfast options. We had issues with the wireless internet in our room… it was the only disappointing aspect of our stay. It worked fine in the lobby. Would absolutely recommend this hotel when in downtown Hartford. It’s a little generic by nature as it’s adjacent to a convention center, but it’s well maintained and well operated.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTLSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I came to Hartford for a lecture at the Bushnell Performing Arts Center from NYC. Unfortunately, there were no trains heading back late enough, so I had to stay in a hotel. I arrived at the hotel, and there was a major problem with my reso (my fault, mostly--definitely not the hotel's). Thanks to the front desk team, and their hyper-creative problem-solving skills, I did not have to spend the night on the street of Hartford. My room was clean--no view, but clean. Pretty good size for a city place. The location is iffy, but the Star Shuttle (freeeee!!!) leaves from the hotel lobby and makes rounds every 15 minutes throughout downtown Hartford. Overall, if I ever need to be in Hartford again, this will definitely be my first choice!

Room Tip: Aim for an even #. I think they have river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelak121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were here for a convention in the convention center next door, so the location was perfect for our purposes, and the hotel is right by Rt 84 if you want to pop out of town. Our room was clean and pleasant, and things seemed pretty new. Staff was friendly and helpful. Because of the convention we got a cheaper rate, which made it quite reasonable.

Parking in the garage is extra ($29/day). Internet was free (wifi and wired), although they had a weird system where you had to accept the $9.95/day charge, and then they'll remove it from your bill automatically later, which seems ripe for mistakes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tzarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
0.5 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 12 in Hartford
1,087 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 12 in Hartford
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Marriott Downtown

Property: Hartford Marriott Downtown
Address: 200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hartford
#2 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartford Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartford Marriott Downtown is a luxury hotel interconnected to the Connecticut Convention Center. This Hartford hotel offers a unique setting for meetings, wedding receptions, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hartford Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel Hartford
Marriott Hartford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing