We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“fine place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hartford Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fine place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were here for a convention in the convention center next door, so the location was perfect for our purposes, and the hotel is right by Rt 84 if you want to pop out of town. Our room was clean and pleasant, and things seemed pretty new. Staff was friendly and helpful. Because of the convention we got a cheaper rate, which made it quite reasonable.

Parking in the garage is extra ($29/day). Internet was free (wifi and wired), although they had a weird system where you had to accept the $9.95/day charge, and then they'll remove it from your bill automatically later, which seems ripe for mistakes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tzarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    227
    69
    15
    13
See reviews for
87
107
28
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Given the lack of hotel choices in Hartford, the Marriott seems to be the best option. The staff and service were great - attentive, polite, and fast - but the rooms and facilities are a little worn. The Vivo restaurant is fine, and the Starbucks in the lobby is nice to have, but there are no fridges in the rooms and almost no other food options within walking distance. You need a car to remedy that, but the parking is not cheap.
My biggest complaint was the adjoining room I was given, and the very, very thin walls. I was kept awake by the person next door (who I didn't know - I did not need an adjoining room) coughing all night. The gym, while fairly good sized, was full of broken machines, and the ones that worked were very low quality.
All in all, for the only choice in Hartford, it's not bad, but there is plenty of room for improvement.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Packlighttravelright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are very happy that you were pleased with our staff and service levels. It is hard to believe, but our hotel will be open for 8 years this August, and we are slated for a renovation and refresh of all of our guest rooms in 2014.

We do offer mini fridges upon request so feel free to ask for one during your next stay. All of our gym equipment should be in working order and we apologize if this was not your experience. Our engineering team is doing a full review to fix any issues.

We hope to see you again soon – again, thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We really liked this hotel. Pool is chilly but magnificent on top floor, nice hot tub/whirlpool if pool is too cold for you. They gave us an extra bed without a fuss, and a nice room upgrade to corner. The views were cool too. We got a great AAA rate, dont forget to use that and save. My kids feel like they are in luxury! Very quiet too. Overall nice weekend getaway, and very proper business type setting (adjacent to convention center). Wish they had free parking though.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elona23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review on TripAdvisor - We enjoy hearing from our guests as the reviews help us to continuously improve. We really appreciate the kind words and we’re glad we were able to make your weekend getaway more enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very conveniently located next the convention center and science center. also easy to access highways, with entrance to 84W and 91N (? i think) right outside parking garage.
The property was very clean and sparkling; the rooms are of reasonable size, but the bathroom door was very big for the bathroom, hence, you can't clear the door if you are standing in front of the toilet - just have to step around it. The beds were very comfortable and quiet. The breakfast next morning was very nice with many fresh cut fruits, hot and cold cereal, selection of hot foods and can request made to order omelets. the service was very good. we really like the high table we had. the decor in the restaurant was very nice and comfortable. The hotel front desk has staff coming into the restaurant that morning to manage the large crowds in the restaurant - nice to see that the staff was on top of things and prompt in resolving the long wait issue at the restaurant (due to a fully booked night from weddings). highly recommend this property and will definitely come back.

Room Tip: We heard dinner at the Vivo was excellent too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for leaving your review with the Trip Advisor community. We strive very hard to ensure that all of guests will leave having had a great experience and recommend us to others and we are so pleased that we met your expectations. Thank you for recommending us and please come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Marriott is an attractive and clean hotel. Our room was comfortable and clean. I thought that the service was very good and any issues I had were quickly resolved. The access to the convention center next door, the riverfront park and the overhead walkway system was excellent.

The wireless internet was not acceptable but the internet was fine when you plugged in (the hotel provided me with a cable for my laptop to plug in). The key card system in the elevators could be improved as it was very unpredictable. But I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rollocst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on TripAdvisor. We are so happy that you found the hotel clean, comfortable and convenient. We are in the process of upgrading our wireless internet service, so that this should not be a problem in the future. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Downtown Hartford for a wedding from April 5-7th. There does not appear to be much to do in Hartford but the Marriott was within walking distance of the City Steam Brewery and a few other fun dining and drinking establishments.

Overall: Like many hotels attached to convention centers, it doesn't appear that it tries to hard to be anything but ordinary since it will always have a steady stream of customers regardless of its accommodations or service.

Parking: The parking garage is a nightmare. An absolute nightmare. During convention center hours and business hours (the garage rents spaces on a monthly basis) it was very difficult to find parking. The garage in not easily labeled and difficult to navigate. However, $19 a night does not seem unreasonable to me. It is less than other major cities.

Food: There is a Starbucks with a nice lounge area but it is too small. There is a restaurant Vino with a very small bar. The food is edible and okay - nothing spectacular. There is another bar called Crush that opens in the evening with a loud DJ and club-like atmosphere. I understand it is common to have these type of goofy hotel clubs in hotels but I wish the Marriott offered another less cheesy option for people who just wanted to enjoy a nightcap with friends. It was nice that there was late night option for wedding guests to catch up after the rehearsal dinner and wedding but I am sure a sports pub would do fine as well.

Rooms: The rooms are an appropriate size for a city hotel but they don't properly utilize the space. I think it is because the rooms are so outdated - The furniture, carpeting, drapes and fixtures are very old. The lighting is bad - You have to light each lamp in the room individually to get a bit of light. There is no plug on the base of the nightstand lamps which is annoying when you want to plug in your phone near your bed. There is no mini-fridge. There are no robes. Water pressure is so-so. Bedding is average/acceptable but nothing I would call nice. The walls are very thin - you can hear everything.

There is a safe and coffee maker in the armoire. Ample closet space.

Service: Again, the fact that they have a steady stream of business allows them to pretty much cut corners on the service aspects. The hotel is terrible with organizing wedding blocks. I heard so many of the guests complaining (saying block was full when it was not, refusing to allow people to reserve double or king rooms specifically, etc...). The women upon check in was nice but they forgot to give us our out of town boxes. The bartender at Vino was nice but easily overwhelmed. Housekeeping was subpar.

Overall, the hotel is a reasonably priced option in Hartford. Just don't expect anything exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyNewlywed08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for providing comments on your recent stay. We are disappointed to hear that you felt we were mediocre in our service levels.As we are currently the only AAA 4-Diamond hotel in the city, we work hard to retain that status and want our guests to think of us as the only place they want to stay while they are in the city. We apologize that we failed to leave you with that impression. We also are disappointed that you only found the restaurant food ‘okay’. We strive to make every dining experience extraordinary. We hope to see you again to not only meet your expectations but exceed them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
239 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I am here for a convention for three nights and the staff has been stellar! My king room is clean, spacious, and everything in the bathroom works. The accompanying toiletries are wonderful and plentiful. There is a coffee maker, safe, luggage rack spacious closet and many many pillows! It is a very secure hotel. Although one might think it is an inconvenience, the key card to access the elevator is a very good security measure. Having stayed at a NON Marriott hotel up the road where the desk couldn't be bothered to have security nor check on me when some men were trying to break into my room, this is a hotel where the desk staff is ultra-knowledgeable. They are definitely "the smartest guy in the room" regarding their hotel and will solve any concerns promptly. Everything has exceeded my expectations and I would never stay anywhere else when visiting Hartford.

Room Tip: I was on the non-river side, and enjoyed the afternoon sun rather than the sun streaming in my windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canter2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGGuestService, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for providing comments on your recent stay. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and that we exceeded your expectations. Nothing could make us happier to hear! We hope to see you again soon and thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hartford hotels
0.5 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 11 in Hartford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hartford Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Marriott Downtown

Property: Hartford Marriott Downtown
Address: 200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103-2807
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hartford
#2 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartford Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartford Marriott Downtown is a luxury hotel interconnected to the Connecticut Convention Center. This Hartford hotel offers a unique setting for meetings, wedding receptions, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your Hartford Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel Hartford
Marriott Hartford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing