We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff was so friendly and accommodating (and had personality)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Everything you expect a Marriott should be--clean, comfortable, convenient location and outstanding staff. I had issues with my reservation--when I called the 800 reservation line to confirm my late arrival they could not find my reservation and booked me again. When I arrived the front desk was very helpful (and light-hearted) and not only discovered I now had two reservations but upgraded my room because of the inconvenience. The upgrade was appreciated as it put us far away from noisy soccer tournament guests. Also, the next morning in my quest for a yogurt, (Starbucks was out) instead of charging me to "take out" a yogurt from the restaurant -- they gave it to me! It is the small things like this that makes Marriott rise to the top for me.

Room Tip: Just check to see if there are any large groups and request a room away from the room block.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for Hartford Marriott Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

550 - 556 of 714 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is attached to the Hartford Convention Center and that alone tells you they have a built-in market and they don't have to be fabulous to be busy--just okay. The hotel lobby is very large & updated. The desk staff were friendly and I was quickly checked in. The room I had included a flat screen TV, frig, acceptablely-sized bathroom with adequate counter space and make-up mirror. The bed and bed linens were in good shape (have fitted sheets, which I like) and the room was clean, including the shower and bath area. My room was quiet and I did not hear my neighbors or hall noise.

So why the score of a 3? It was all just oaky. The room rate is similar to other hotels in the area. The room furnishings are in decent shape, the gym area was adequate, my internet did work. But overall an average Marriott and nothing more. If you don't stay in hotels much you will probably like this one.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluDragonFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

As you're aware, Marriott's are complete hit or misses these days. It was a late, rainy Friday leaving NYC for a drive to Maine and I just had to stop for the night. I made a last minute reservation with a bit of trepidation given it's downtown Hartford. WHen I arrived at 11.30 pm, the bar was thumping with music and a good crowd (turned out to be an Episcopalian Convention!). The front desk was efficient and hospitable and the room was top shelf, clean, and comfortable. If you remember the way Marriott used to be, this brings back the good old days! Congrats to the staff of the hotel for doing such a great job. And thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THESUPERFRANK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

While I did not spend the night in a hotel room, I attended a national knitting convention and all my classes were in the hotel. To start with, the bathrooms were immaculate with individual, white turkish towels and a lovely hamper to dump used towels. Staff was quick to take care of any needs and were so very friendly. Class teachers even remarked how helpful and pleasant the staff in setting up and meeting odd requests. Class rooms were kept very clean and fresh water was brought every couple of hours with REAL glass tumblers and linen napkins. I can only assume the sleeping rooms were as well attended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickiknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Granted, hotel prices are high in Hartford. For what I paid for a night at the Hartford Marriott Downtown, however, I expected to at least have a useable sink. That proved not to be the case: The sink stopper was stuck in the closed position, so I could not so much as brush my teeth using the sink because the water would not drain. I wonder how many times the room had been cleaned and the problem simply ignored. Similarly, there was no Guest Directory in the room.

On the positive side, room service was prompt and efficient, even with staff calling after food had been delivered to find out if everything was acceptable. The hotel also is quiet. I don't think I ever heard a sound from the hallway or other rooms.

The hotel staff, particularly those in valet parking, were very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAP1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Daughter and I visited for one night for a college visit. Plentiful Parking is adjacent to the hotel; you can use the valet ($23) or self park ($19). Check in was quick and efficient. The room was nicely appointed and had about the best mattress I have ever slept on at a hotel . We were on the concierge level; the room is very pretty with beautiful views of the river and pretty forests ringing the city. The Concierge appetizers were tasty and plentiful. The breakfast was delicious and included hot and cold foods.

I would like to especially commend Ali, the manager, who was very friendly and really seemed to care that your stay was a great one; and Lourdes and Sylvana in the concierge level, who just went out of their way to make sure that our experience up there was a good one.

Definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was a great hotel and location. I was extremely impressed with the hotel as a whole. Extremely friendly staff. Great restaurant on location, with good food. The one thing is the the concierge lounge is not open on Monday's. But when I went to the lobby to ask they gave me a breakfast voucher for the restaurant right a way. Which was great. They have a nice buffet also.

Rooms were roomy and nice. Very clean hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dbailly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
0.5 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 12 in Hartford
1,110 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Goodwin
The Goodwin
#5 of 12 in Hartford
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#6 of 12 in Hartford
455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hartford
#2 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range: $163 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartford Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartford Marriott Downtown is a luxury hotel interconnected to the Connecticut Convention Center. This Hartford hotel offers a unique setting for meetings, wedding receptions, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hartford Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel Hartford
Marriott Hartford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing