We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New looking public areas, dated looking rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The hotel looked really impressive from the outside and lobby, but the room was disappointing. Two double beds that weren't very comfortable, dated looking carpeting, scratched furniture, and a bird's eye view of the highway. Still, the location is convenient with easy access to the convention center and there aren't many other hotels around to choose from in that area of town.

Room Tip: Get one on a high floor that doesn't face the highway.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathy818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
There are newer reviews for Hartford Marriott Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 714 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

I thought it was fine for a convenient place to stay, but pricey for the size of the room. I thought the room was clean, but SMALL - tiny bathroom. No refrigerator in the room. Check in and out were easy, staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntbip811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margery R, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thank you for providing your comments on our property. We appreciate all of your feedback and are very happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly, the check in and out to be easy, and the rooms clean. We hope that you will come back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I frequently stay at the Hartford Marriott for business. While it's always reliable, my last visit was a step up. The staff was smiling, helpful, saying hello. The location is great because there are many resturants locally within walking distance and the town is sleepy after hours and allows for a nice walk. Be sure to ask the front desk for directions, info on the trolley and resturant suggestions. That being said, I had a great dinner at Vivo so don't worry if you don't want to leave this cozy hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catzmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed here recently for a conference. The hotel was clean, well decorated, and inviting. The service was excellent. I forgot my business charge card, and they went out of their way to provide me the forms required to fax my office and and have signed in order to charge the card. I was impressed by the amount of attention and care the staff displayed. The rooms are reasonably sized, and have good amenities. The gym is great- recommend it to all! The view from the treadmills is beautiful. The only con is the expensive parking- $20 per day.

Room Tip: High level floors have great views. Lower level rooms are directly visible from the conference cente...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonRedSox34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel recently during a cheerleader competition at the Convention Center. The room was nice - it showed some signs of wear, particularly in the bathroom, but the bedding was nice and new, and the room had a large flat-screen TV. We ordered room service twice which was delivered quickly, and the food was hot and good. Valet parking was $4 higher than the price for self-parking which I think was definitely worth it. It took a long time to check-in because a number of the people checking in had problems - such as they wanted 2 beds but only one was available, etc - the hotel was sold to capacity - so unfortunately, if you had not guaranteed 2 beds, they were not available. The front desk dealt with them professionally and patiently. My only complaint was the noise level - the walls and doors are very thin, and given the high number of cheerleaders in the hotel, it was understandably quite noisy, making sleep difficult. After reading an earlier review about bedbugs, I checked our mattress, but it was new and clean - no sign of bedbugs.
There is a nice Starbucks next to a very lovely lobby area, and, if you're going to the convention center, you don't even need to walk outside. It's easy on and off the highway. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to find a quiet corner
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyrajama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margery R, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are very happy to hear that you had a good stay and that you will definitely return. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times. For Marriotts, it is very clean and relatively new - built in 2005. If you are planning on staying in Hartford, this is your best bet. The beds are comfortable, but try asking for a high floor and with no one in the surrounding rooms. There are a lot of loud city noises (sirens), so being on the top floor is the best. And the walls are a little thin, and I could often hear what was going around me in the surrounding rooms....
The service is very good and friendly. Room service was presented well and came up to the room very fast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kattysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Not sure if I was staying the same place that has been reviewed by others. Room was small and standard issue. Bathroom was tiny and smelled of mold. Workout room was functional, but certainly not great, as some have called it. The lobby makes no sense from a functional pr architectural point of view. The staff was friendly and accomodating. I considered calling this an average hotel. Two things move it into the poor category, the aforementioned bathroom with mold and the price, over $300 a night. There is nothing about the hotel to justify that price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keenefleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margery R, Manager at Hartford Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

We appreciate your comments. We pride ourselves in both our product and services. Should you have the opportunity to return to Hartford, we hope that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
0.5 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 12 in Hartford
1,110 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Goodwin
The Goodwin
#5 of 12 in Hartford
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#6 of 12 in Hartford
455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Marriott Downtown

Address: 200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hartford
#2 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range: $163 - $442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartford Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartford Marriott Downtown is a luxury hotel interconnected to the Connecticut Convention Center. This Hartford hotel offers a unique setting for meetings, wedding receptions, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hartford Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel Hartford
Marriott Hartford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing