We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for easy access to conventions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hartford Marriott Downtown
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel for easy access to conventions”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

Second visit to this hotel due to attending a convention. First time actually staying overnight. Great, friendly service from all Marriott employees I encountered. Used the valet service many times as I was in and out (once being at midnight with two ten year olds and many bags) and they provided professional, safe and helpful service each and every time. Rooms were clean and provided very comfortable bedding. Having a Starbucks in main lobby attached to a very comfortable roomy sitting area was very nice. It was helpful when you are on the run and need to grab a quick coffee (or strawberry smoothie for the kids) and bagel in the morning!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjjtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    238
    72
    16
    13
See reviews for
98
113
31
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simsbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at this local hotel during a horrible October snowstorm. What was so impressive about our stay was the attention to detail and the amount of effort put into making our stay as comfortable as possible. It is likely that the staff working were undergoing the same stress that all of the customers were (no power at home); yet, they worked tirelessly to make sure that their guests were content. We were most impressed by the impromptu family Halloween party that was free for guests. As anyone with young children knows, entertaining children in a hotel can be a challenge. Having a special Halloween activity distracted our children from missing trick or treating and provided such a wonderful sense of community during a challenging time. I would highly recommend this hotel for families, as the staff truly accommodated our children. The location next to the Science Museum is ideal. We figured the best way to say thank you for making our stay so great, was to share our story with all of you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Beautiful hotel! Nice lounge areas convienent resturant in lobby and bar/club area. The room was nice a little on the small side. The pool/fitness area are on the top floor which was cool with the views, the pool however was only 3ft deep and jacuzzi was very small. Got a package deal which included buffet breakfast for 2 adults 2 kids under 12, buffet was excellent!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m9190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Large hotel with good proximity to science center and other things downtown. Parking was expensive at $20 and available at a connected parking deck which was always deserted. We had great service from the bartender when we had a late evening business meeting in the business center - she brought us food and drinks way across the lobby while we worked.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneida, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Very spacious, King room. Comfortable bed and pillows. The towels weren't best, but the amenities in the bathroom were quality products, The front desk was okay. A young girl was trying to get us a place to eat, and the manager walked by with a snotty remark about it being "Taste of Hartford," so it would be difficult. There is a free trolley that stops at the hotel and takes you to other locations downtown. It is connected to the Convention Center so it's very convenient if that is your destination. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was great service and delicious food. We enjoyed the Starbucks, in the hotel, in the morning. No WiFi in the rooms, which was disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

A nice hotel, even though its a little pricey. Has a good location right off 91. Hotel is very large with its own restaurant, bar and small pool/fitness center on the top floor. Room and bathroom was clean. Included in our stay was a free breakfast buffet, which was great. Parking in nearby garage was $20. No complaints from our stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JG5554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The rooms are modern, the bar and reception area are modern and well styled, The Resturant serves good value food, and you can get a healthy buffet breakfast for $10. ITs a great location central to the city center. the only fault I had was internet cover was limited. Otherwise great and I would go again. ITs also a very big and busy hotel alot of people stay there as its near the confernce center so expect it to be busy most of the time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victor_Brava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartford
0.5 mi away
Hilton Hartford
Hilton Hartford
#2 of 11 in Hartford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Downtown
0.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Hartford
Radisson Hotel Hartford
#5 of 11 in Hartford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hartford Downtown
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hartford Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford/East Hartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartford Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartford Marriott Downtown

Property: Hartford Marriott Downtown
Address: 200 Columbus Blvd, Hartford, CT 06103-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Hartford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hartford
#2 Business Hotel in Hartford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hartford Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 409
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartford Marriott Downtown is a luxury hotel interconnected to the Connecticut Convention Center. This Hartford hotel offers a unique setting for meetings, wedding receptions, and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hartford Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartford Marriott Downtown Hotel Hartford
Marriott Hartford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing