We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great park in a great city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goodwin Park

Goodwin Park
Ranked #28 of 60 things to do in Hartford
Attraction details
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great park in a great city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Goodwin Park is a real jewel in Hartford's Southend. From its public golf course to its playground and swimming pool to its ponds filled with wildlife, Goodwin Park is a beautiful refuge from city life, a source of recreation and a real peaceful place to take a walk through. Goodwin Park is a safe a restful destination for Hartford's residents. We love it!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    4
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A sad deterioration”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I grew up across from this park, and I walk my son's dog there every now and then (he bought his grandparents' house), and I'm greatly saddened to see how this once beautiful park and golf course has gone to seed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin CT
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chirstmas Lights at Goodwin Park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Went to see the Christmas lights - great display to take children. Lights and drive were excellent and money goes to support a great cause. My grandson just loved itl.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank DBRBBerlinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South River, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Visited for a fund raising event (golfing)”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

The park and golf course is in very bad condition. I don't believe that any grounds keeping exists. The park is owned by the city and it needs HELP!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Danger, Will Robinson”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

There are many safer parks in the metro area. The Farmington Valley would be my recommendation.

Helpful?
Thank Cora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodwin Park also viewed

 

Been to Goodwin Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing