We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue and okay selection”
Review of Hartford Stage

Hartford Stage
Ranked #4 of 63 things to do in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hartford Stage, located in Hartford, Connecticut, is one of the nation's leading resident theatres, known for producing innovative revivals of classics and provocative new plays and musicals, including 68 world and American premieres, as well as offering a distinguished education program, which reaches more than 20,000 students annually.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
132 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great venue and okay selection”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I've been a season subscriber here for over a decade, so have seem over 60 plays here. The renovations that took place over the last few years have transformed this from a good venue to a great venue.

The shift from the previous Artistic Director, Michael Wilson, to Darko has gone well. The play selection has been excellent and his handling of classics outstanding.

I look forward to many more years of great plays.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    39
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Song at Twilight”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

While it received just so-so reviews, I found the play enjoyable and we had excellent seats. Be on the lookout for discount tickets and go.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ctconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice theater, decent play”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The theater is intimate and it's easy to park close by. The actors were solid quality professionals. The short one act play (The Underpants) was not a great work of art but had some funny moments.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank my_views_thoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Outstanding regional theater”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We usually see a play here about once a year (we have to ration our live theater budget), and we just saw Steve Martin's adaptation of a 1911 German farce, "The Underpants". We laughed ourselves silly. This theater has consistently good material and actors, and presents a variety of plays so there is something for everyone. Last year we saw "A Gentleman's Guide to Love & Murder", which premiered at this theater and just opened on Broadway to rave reviews. If you live in central CT or are visiting the Hartford area be sure to check out Hartford Stage!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love the intimacy of this theatre”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

There are no bad seats - every seat has a great view of the stage. The productions are professionally done and the cost of the tickets is reasonable.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ctgama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hartford Stage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing