We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Professional Theatre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hartford Stage

Hartford Stage
Ranked #4 of 62 things to do in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hartford Stage, located in Hartford, Connecticut, is one of the nation's leading resident theatres, known for producing innovative revivals of classics and provocative new plays and musicals, including 68 world and American premieres, as well as offering a distinguished education program, which reaches more than 20,000 students annually.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Professional Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have been subscribers for many years. Most of the plays are very good and all are well performed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mike_cora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    37
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Intimate setting to watch a show up close and personal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Enjoyed two productions this season with creative staging and quality acting. Seats are close to the stage so you can appreciate actor's facial expressions and hear every word clearly. Reasonably priced for theater and the variety of productions means you are sure to find one or two shows that appeal to you in every season.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PDK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

A nice selection of plays, both new and old. One recent one has gone on to Broadway. Not all are good so look before you leap.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SchlarmanAlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful theater in Hartford”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The plays are usually excellent. It's hard to have a bad seat no matter where you sit. Hartford is fortunate to have this theater.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank RetRPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a bad seat in the house!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've been coming here since I was in high school, when we would come for school trips. I just recently went again as a voluntary (hehe) adult, and I loved it even more!!

The setting is intimate, the seats are comfortable and convenient. I get a strange type of "seat anxiety" at these kind of events, and sometimes a crowded view will be enough to distract me from the whole performance. I wish it wasn't so, but it is, and that's why I love the Hartford Stage! The seating layout allows you to be truly pulled into the production, and the set is versatile enough to allow for truly phenomenal sets.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hartford Stage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing