We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great theater” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hartford Stage

Hartford Stage
Ranked #4 of 62 things to do in Hartford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hartford Stage, located in Hartford, Connecticut, is one of the nation's leading resident theatres, known for producing innovative revivals of classics and provocative new plays and musicals, including 68 world and American premieres, as well as offering a distinguished education program, which reaches more than 20,000 students annually.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great theater”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

You may not like every play, but they are all well done. Imaginative staging, interesting sets and wonderful costuming. The current artistic director is very good and his productions are outstanding. Small enough for a good view from every seat. Great regional theater.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mainelovers1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    37
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ct
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A christmas carol is well done with special effects.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Each performance there leaves me riveted; my attention grabbed. The stage is so close; they are all good seats there. Excellent acting.

Helpful?
Thank yfufamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Connecticut
Level Contributor
187 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Easy Parking, Great Seats, and Great Shows”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've seen three shows here over the past few years and all have been excellent. Parking Garage is attached to this theater so you only have to go outside for about 10 feet, perfect when the weather is bad. There is not a bad seat in the house, a bar offers cocktails and beverages that can be brought to your seat. Clean spacious restrooms...never a line. Ushers to help you find your seat. Quality of shows is just amazing. I always consider becoming a subscriber after seeing a show.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Medusa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent, accessible, local entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have been visiting the Hartford Stage for years, and have recently become a subscriber. The venue is intimate --there isn't a bad seat in the house. The shows run the gamut from traditional with a twist (Shakespeare etc.) to the more modern and avant garde.

Scenery, music, choreography are always high-caliber, as is the quality of the talent. I would highly recommend the Hartford Stage for anyone seeking a healthy dose of culture.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CTHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Hartford Stage puts on excellent performances. Litterally, there is no bad seat. We have gone to a number of performances and have not been disappointed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank SuzieTheWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hartford Stage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing